Math-U-See alternatives
Math-U-See is filed as curricula (print & mixed), K-12 (mastery levels), not stated. Price as shown: unknown. The alternatives below are other listings with a shared style, type, faith, or grade span. This is not a ranking by company size, and it is not a quiz result.
The set is the eight listings with the strongest overlap on those fields. They are then shown in directory order: Sponsored placement first when a listing has it, then the independent average. Sponsored does not change the facts in the cells. The independent average is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Where a price says unknown, we did not estimate a yearly cost from a neighbor.
Read the Math-U-See listing for the sourced price, grades, and reviews. Head-to-head pages that include it: Math-U-See vs Saxon Math, Math-U-See vs Singapore Math. The compare tool can hold it next to any other listing. The quiz runs in your browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. State requirements are on the state pages, which are not legal advice.
| Program | Shared styles | Type | Faith | Price as shown | Grades |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abeka Homeschool | none | same type | Christian | Abeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page. | PreK-12 |
| Art of Problem Solving | math | Live Online Classes | Secular | unknown | Grades 5-12 (AoPS Online) |
| Beast Academy | math | same type | Secular | unknown | Grades 1-5 math (AoPS family) |
| CTCMath | math | Online Curricula | Not stated | One student $39.90/mo or $257/yr; multiple students $59.90/mo or $397/yr | K-12 math |
| Math Mammoth | mastery, math | same type | Not stated | unknown | K-8 (Light Blue Series) |
| RightStart Mathematics | math | same type | Not stated | Level B book bundle shown at $109.25 | PreK-8 (levels) |
| Saxon Math | math | same type | Secular | unknown | K-12 |
| Singapore Math | mastery, math | same type | Secular | Grade sets shown (e.g., $123, $137) | PreK-8 |
Abeka Homeschool
Abeka Homeschool is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 with traditional and video paths. The Abeka Academy pricing page shows a 10-month plan for Video & Books: accredited grades 1–6 at $148.40 a month, unaccredited grades 1–6 at $143.40 a month, and K5 at $98.40 or $93.40 a month. Other plans are on that page. The starting figure used here, $1,434, is the unaccredited grades 1–6 plan across 10 months, not a quote for high school or for every child. Abeka lists both accredited and unaccredited video options, so “accredited” on this page means an option exists, not that every box of books is an accredited school. Read the plan name before you compare it with a full-year tuition.
Art of Problem Solving
Art of Problem Solving (AoPS Online) is secular math for grades 5–12, taught as live online classes and presented for students who want harder problems. The site says AoPS is ACS WASC accredited. That accreditation note is why this listing is marked as having an accredited option. Ask AoPS what the accreditation covers before you assume every course produces a transcript a local school will accept. A price was not verified on the check date, so it stays unknown. Delivery is live: class meets at a time. Our involvement estimate is low because a teacher runs the class. It is math, not a full curriculum. Beast Academy is the elementary sibling, listed separately.
Beast Academy
Beast Academy is secular math for grades 1–5 from the Art of Problem Solving family. The styles on this listing are math, online, and gifted. “Gifted” is the publisher’s framing of the puzzle-heavy work, not a label we assign to a child. A current price was not captured, so it stays unknown. Accreditation is n/a. Delivery is tagged both self-paced and parent-directed, and our involvement estimate is high: many families sit with the comic-style lessons even when an online version exists. The grade span in our data is 1–5. It is not a middle-school or high-school program. AoPS Online is the separate listing for older students.
CTCMath
CTCMath is online video math for K–12. The FAQ page shows one student at $39.90 a month or $257 a year, and multiple students at $59.90 a month or $397 a year. The starting figure is $257, the one-student yearly price. It is math only. Accreditation is n/a. Faith stance was not stated. Delivery is self-paced and our involvement estimate is medium. A family with more than one student should use the multiple-student price, not the starting figure. Because the lessons are video, the parent is usually a supervisor rather than the person inventing the lesson. Pair it with a language-arts and history plan. Do not read $257 as the cost of a full homeschool.
Math Mammoth
Math Mammoth’s Light Blue Series is a K–8 math curriculum. The publisher describes it as mastery-oriented, aimed at conceptual understanding and mental math, nearly self-teaching, and open-and-go, in digital and print versions, with free placement tests and free videos on the site. A current price was not captured on October 17, 2026, so the price stays unknown even though the approach is well described. Faith stance was not stated. Accreditation is n/a. The grade span stops at 8. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high, even with the “nearly self-teaching” line, because an adult still has to check the work and choose the level. Use the free placement test. Do not assume a grade number in another program equals the same Math Mammoth book.
RightStart Mathematics
RightStart Mathematics is hands-on math organized in levels for PreK–8. The page we checked showed a Level B book bundle at $109.25. That item price is the starting figure. It is one level’s book bundle, not a promise about manipulatives, later levels, or a full school year of every subject. Faith stance was not stated. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches with the materials; our involvement estimate is high. The grade tag stops at 8, so this is not a high-school math listing. If your child is older than the level names suggest, use RightStart’s placement guidance rather than the last grade they completed in another program.
Saxon Math
Saxon Math is the traditional K–12 math series now listed by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. It is secular in this directory, math-only, and not an accredited school. The HMH program page did not give a homeschool price we could verify on the check date, so the price stays unknown. Families often buy Saxon from other booksellers; those prices are not recorded here. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high. Saxon’s lesson pattern is a textbook rhythm: a new idea plus practice that returns to older ideas. That “traditional” tag is the contrast with Math-U-See’s mastery levels. Compare placement, not just the brand name.
Singapore Math
Singapore Math, in the Dimensions Math line this directory checked, is secular mastery math for PreK–8. The shop showed grade sets at prices such as $123 and $137. The starting figure is $123 for one grade set. That is an item price, not a full homeschool year and not a high-school sequence. The recorded grade span stops at 8. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches; involvement is estimated as high. If you need grades 9–12 math, this listing does not cover it. If you are comparing it with Math Mammoth, compare the grade set in your hand with Math Mammoth’s placement test, and remember one of the prices is unknown.
Frequently asked questions
What counts as an alternative to Math-U-See?
Another listing that shares a style tag, a program type, a stated faith stance, or an overlapping recorded grade span. The directory has no company-size field, so this page does not rank brands by size. Price is shown. It is not used to invent a cheaper winner when a price is unknown.
How much does Math-U-See cost?
Price as shown on October 17, 2026: unknown. No single yearly starting figure is stored. Confirm it on the official page.