Math-U-See vs Singapore Math
Quick answer: Math-U-See (mastery, math) and Singapore Math (mastery, math) differ in the fields below. The table uses only facts from each official page, checked October 17, 2026. Unknown means we could not verify it.
| Math-U-See | Singapore Math | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Curricula (Print & Mixed) | Curricula (Print & Mixed) |
| Independent average | No numeric independent rating | No numeric independent rating |
| Price as shown | unknown | Grade sets shown (e.g., $123, $137) |
| Starting figure | unknown | $123.00 |
| Grades | K-12 (mastery levels) | PreK-8 |
| Accreditation | n/a | n/a |
| Faith | Not stated | Secular |
| Styles | mastery, math | mastery, math |
| Parent time (estimate) | high | high |
Math-U-See listing · Singapore Math listing · Open in the compare tool
How they differ in approach
- Shared: mastery, math.
- Only Math-U-See: none.
- Only Singapore Math: none.
- mastery: Mastery stays with one idea until it is solid, instead of spiraling back every week.
- math: This is math. You still need a plan for reading and the rest of the day.
How to decide
- Pick the style first. The shape of Tuesday matters more than the brand.
- Check the total for your children, including books and shipping, on each official site.
- Use samples or placement tests before you buy a year.
- Make sure records match your state's official source.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Math-U-See or Singapore Math?
Prices as shown on October 17, 2026: Math-U-See: unknown Singapore Math: Grade sets shown (e.g., $123, $137) Where a price is unknown, or where one figure is a kit and the other is a year, compare current quotes directly. We do not invent a winner.
Is Math-U-See or Singapore Math accredited?
Math-U-See: n/a Singapore Math: n/a
Are Math-U-See and Singapore Math religious or secular?
Math-U-See: Not stated. Singapore Math: Secular.
Can I switch from one to the other mid-year?
Usually yes. Homeschool materials are not a school calendar. Use each provider's placement test, if one is offered. Math programs in particular sequence topics differently, so a grade number in one series is not a grade number in the other.
What each listing says
Math-U-See is a mastery math program arranged in levels rather than a single grade label, covering the K–12 span in this directory. It is math only. You still need a plan for reading and everything else. Accreditation is n/a. A verifiable current price was not captured on October 17, 2026, so the price stays unknown. Faith stance was not stated on the page we checked. A parent teaches; our involvement estimate is high, which fits a manipulative-based lesson where an adult presents the concept. Use the publisher’s placement test if one is offered. Do not jump levels because of age alone, and do not invent a price from memory.
Singapore Math, in the Dimensions Math line this directory checked, is secular mastery math for PreK–8. The shop showed grade sets at prices such as $123 and $137. The starting figure is $123 for one grade set. That is an item price, not a full homeschool year and not a high-school sequence. The recorded grade span stops at 8. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches; involvement is estimated as high. If you need grades 9–12 math, this listing does not cover it. If you are comparing it with Math Mammoth, compare the grade set in your hand with Math Mammoth’s placement test, and remember one of the prices is unknown.
This page does not score a winner. Paid placement, if either listing has it, is labeled Sponsored and does not change the cells. The independent average is a separate number from third-party ratings. It is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Read the methodology for how that average is calculated, then open each official site before you buy. A kit, a monthly plan, and a school tuition are different purchases. Where either program has an alternatives page, it is linked from that program's listing.