The Good and the Beautiful alternatives
The Good and the Beautiful is filed as curricula (print & mixed), PreK-12, not stated. Price as shown: Individual items shown from about $17.99 (varies). The alternatives below are other listings with a shared style, type, faith, or grade span. This is not a ranking by company size, and it is not a quiz result.
The set is the eight listings with the strongest overlap on those fields. They are then shown in directory order: Sponsored placement first when a listing has it, then the independent average. Sponsored does not change the facts in the cells. The independent average is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Where a price says unknown, we did not estimate a yearly cost from a neighbor.
Read the The Good and the Beautiful listing for the sourced price, grades, and reviews. Head-to-head pages that include it: The Good and the Beautiful vs Abeka Homeschool. The compare tool can hold it next to any other listing. The quiz runs in your browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. State requirements are on the state pages, which are not legal advice.
| Program | Shared styles | Type | Faith | Price as shown | Grades |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abeka Homeschool | none | same type | Christian | Abeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page. | PreK-12 |
| Alpha Omega Publications | none | same type | Christian | Monarch: $439.95/yr per student full access (or $43.95/mo); single course $109.95/yr (or $10.95/mo) | PreK-12 |
| Apologia | none | same type | Christian | Example: Astronomy Build-Your-Own Set $84.60 sale (list $94.00); items priced individually | K-12 |
| Beast Academy | none | same type | Secular | unknown | Grades 1-5 math (AoPS family) |
| Brave Writer | literature-based | same type | Secular | unknown | K-12 (writing & language arts) |
| Heart of Dakota | literature-based | same type | Christian | unknown | PreK-12 |
| My Father's World | literature-based | same type | Christian | unknown | PreK-12 |
| Sonlight | literature-based | same type | Christian | unknown | PreK-12 |
Abeka Homeschool
Abeka Homeschool is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 with traditional and video paths. The Abeka Academy pricing page shows a 10-month plan for Video & Books: accredited grades 1–6 at $148.40 a month, unaccredited grades 1–6 at $143.40 a month, and K5 at $98.40 or $93.40 a month. Other plans are on that page. The starting figure used here, $1,434, is the unaccredited grades 1–6 plan across 10 months, not a quote for high school or for every child. Abeka lists both accredited and unaccredited video options, so “accredited” on this page means an option exists, not that every box of books is an accredited school. Read the plan name before you compare it with a full-year tuition.
Alpha Omega Publications
Alpha Omega Publications (often searched as AOP or Monarch) is a Christian workbook and online curriculum for PreK–12. The Monarch page lists full access at $439.95 per student per year, or $43.95 a month, and a single course at $109.95 a year or $10.95 a month. The starting figure is the full-access yearly price. The Monarch FAQ on aop.com says Monarch is not accredited, so this listing is not marked as an accredited school. Delivery is tagged both self-paced and parent-directed. Our involvement estimate is high: someone still oversees the work even when the lessons are on a screen. Confirm whether you are pricing Monarch, a printed workbook line, or a single course.
Apologia
Apologia is a Christian science publisher for K–12. Items are priced one by one. The shop example we recorded is the Astronomy Build-Your-Own Set at $84.60 on sale, list $94.00. That is an example, not a yearly science budget and not a full curriculum, so there is no annual starting figure. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches from the textbook; our involvement estimate is high. You would add math, language arts, and history from somewhere else. When you compare science costs, compare the specific course (elementary science versus high-school biology) and check whether the sale price is still the price. A single kit on sale is not “the cost of Apologia.”
Beast Academy
Beast Academy is secular math for grades 1–5 from the Art of Problem Solving family. The styles on this listing are math, online, and gifted. “Gifted” is the publisher’s framing of the puzzle-heavy work, not a label we assign to a child. A current price was not captured, so it stays unknown. Accreditation is n/a. Delivery is tagged both self-paced and parent-directed, and our involvement estimate is high: many families sit with the comic-style lessons even when an online version exists. The grade span in our data is 1–5. It is not a middle-school or high-school program. AoPS Online is the separate listing for older students.
Brave Writer
Brave Writer is a secular writing and language-arts program for K–12, built around literature. It is not a full lineup of math, science, and history. A price we could verify was not on the pages checked, so the price stays unknown. The site says high school class credit and transcripts are issued. That is not the same thing as school accreditation, so this listing keeps acc unmarked and quotes the credit note instead. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high: a parent is in the writing conversation. Pair it with a math program and, if you need a diploma from an accredited school, a separate school.
Heart of Dakota
Heart of Dakota is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 in the Charlotte Mason and literature-based tags. A parent teaches. Accreditation is n/a, and a package price was not verified on the check date, so the price stays unknown. Our involvement estimate is high: these guides are written for a parent to lead short lessons and read-alouds. If you are deciding among Charlotte Mason options, AmblesideOnline is a free schedule, Master Books is tagged Charlotte Mason and workbook, and My Father's World adds unit study. Heart of Dakota’s price has to come from the publisher. We will not estimate it from similar programs.
My Father's World
My Father's World is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12. In this directory its styles are unit study, literature-based, and Charlotte Mason, and delivery is parent-directed. We could not verify a current package price or an accreditation statement on the official pages checked October 17, 2026. Both stay unknown. Our involvement estimate is high: unit studies and living books are taught by a parent, often with more than one child in the same topic. If you are comparing it with Sonlight, compare the daily shape (one topic across subjects versus a literature list) and then ask each publisher for a current price. Do not fill the blank with a guess.
Sonlight
Sonlight is a Christian, literature-based curriculum listed for PreK–12. Families usually meet it as a book-filled core that a parent teaches. On October 17, 2026 the official pages we could check did not give a single price we could verify, and they did not state accreditation in a way we could record. Both fields stay unknown. Parent involvement is our estimate of high, because literature-based programs are tagged as parent-directed in this directory. Do not treat a missing price as “inexpensive” or “expensive.” Ask Sonlight for the current package price for your child’s level, including shipping and any extra subjects.
Frequently asked questions
What counts as an alternative to The Good and the Beautiful?
Another listing that shares a style tag, a program type, a stated faith stance, or an overlapping recorded grade span. The directory has no company-size field, so this page does not rank brands by size. Price is shown. It is not used to invent a cheaper winner when a price is unknown.
How much does The Good and the Beautiful cost?
Price as shown on October 17, 2026: Individual items shown from about $17.99 (varies). No single yearly starting figure is stored. Confirm it on the official page.