The Good and the Beautiful vs Abeka
Quick answer: The Good and the Beautiful (literature-based) and Abeka (traditional, video) differ mainly in teaching style, price model and faith stance. The table shows only facts from each official page, checked 2026-10-17. "Unknown" means we couldn't verify it.
| The Good and the Beautiful | Abeka | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Curricula (Print & Mixed) | Curricula (Print & Mixed) |
| Price as shown | Individual items shown from about $17.99 (varies) | Abeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page. |
| Grades | PreK-12 | PreK-12 |
| Accreditation | unknown | Accredited and unaccredited video options (Abeka Academy pricing page) |
| Faith | Not stated | Christian |
| Styles | literature-based | traditional, video |
| Parent involvement (est.) | high | medium |
How they differ in approach
- Shared: no listed styles in common.
- Only The Good and the Beautiful: literature-based.
- Only Abeka: traditional, video.
- Literature-Based: Literature-based programs teach history, reading and often other subjects through real books rather than textbooks alone.
- Traditional: A traditional approach uses textbooks, workbooks, tests and grade levels similar to a conventional school.
- Video: Video instruction has a recorded teacher present lessons, which can reduce the parent's teaching load.
How to decide
- Pick the style first: approach matters more than brand.
- Check total yearly cost, including books, for your number of children.
- Use both providers' placement tests or samples before buying.
- Make sure records and accreditation meet your state's rules.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, The Good and the Beautiful or Abeka?
Prices as shown on 2026-10-17: The Good and the Beautiful: Individual items shown from about $17.99 (varies). Abeka: Abeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page.. Where a price is unknown, we couldn't verify one on the official page, so compare current quotes directly.
Is The Good and the Beautiful or Abeka accredited?
The Good and the Beautiful: unknown. Abeka: Accredited and unaccredited video options (Abeka Academy pricing page).
Are The Good and the Beautiful and Abeka religious or secular?
The Good and the Beautiful: Not stated. Abeka: Christian.
Can I switch from one to the other mid-year?
Usually yes, because homeschool curricula aren't tied to a school calendar. Use the provider's placement test, if offered, to find the right level. Math programs in particular sequence topics differently.