Saxon Math alternatives

Saxon Math is filed as curricula (print & mixed), K-12, secular. Price as shown: unknown. The alternatives below are other listings with a shared style, type, faith, or grade span. This is not a ranking by company size, and it is not a quiz result.

The set is the eight listings with the strongest overlap on those fields. They are then shown in directory order: Sponsored placement first when a listing has it, then the independent average. Sponsored does not change the facts in the cells. The independent average is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Where a price says unknown, we did not estimate a yearly cost from a neighbor.

Read the Saxon Math listing for the sourced price, grades, and reviews. Head-to-head pages that include it: Math-U-See vs Saxon Math. The compare tool can hold it next to any other listing. The quiz runs in your browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. State requirements are on the state pages, which are not legal advice.

ProgramShared stylesTypeFaithPrice as shownGrades
Abeka Homeschooltraditionalsame typeChristianAbeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page.PreK-12
Art of Problem SolvingmathLive Online ClassesSecularunknownGrades 5-12 (AoPS Online)
Beast Academymathsame typeSecularunknownGrades 1-5 math (AoPS family)
Brave Writernonesame typeSecularunknownK-12 (writing & language arts)
Math Mammothmathsame typeNot statedunknownK-8 (Light Blue Series)
Math-U-Seemathsame typeNot statedunknownK-12 (mastery levels)
RightStart Mathematicsmathsame typeNot statedLevel B book bundle shown at $109.25PreK-8 (levels)
Singapore Mathmathsame typeSecularGrade sets shown (e.g., $123, $137)PreK-8

Abeka Homeschool

Abeka Homeschool is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 with traditional and video paths. The Abeka Academy pricing page shows a 10-month plan for Video & Books: accredited grades 1–6 at $148.40 a month, unaccredited grades 1–6 at $143.40 a month, and K5 at $98.40 or $93.40 a month. Other plans are on that page. The starting figure used here, $1,434, is the unaccredited grades 1–6 plan across 10 months, not a quote for high school or for every child. Abeka lists both accredited and unaccredited video options, so “accredited” on this page means an option exists, not that every box of books is an accredited school. Read the plan name before you compare it with a full-year tuition.

Art of Problem Solving

Art of Problem Solving (AoPS Online) is secular math for grades 5–12, taught as live online classes and presented for students who want harder problems. The site says AoPS is ACS WASC accredited. That accreditation note is why this listing is marked as having an accredited option. Ask AoPS what the accreditation covers before you assume every course produces a transcript a local school will accept. A price was not verified on the check date, so it stays unknown. Delivery is live: class meets at a time. Our involvement estimate is low because a teacher runs the class. It is math, not a full curriculum. Beast Academy is the elementary sibling, listed separately.

Beast Academy

Beast Academy is secular math for grades 1–5 from the Art of Problem Solving family. The styles on this listing are math, online, and gifted. “Gifted” is the publisher’s framing of the puzzle-heavy work, not a label we assign to a child. A current price was not captured, so it stays unknown. Accreditation is n/a. Delivery is tagged both self-paced and parent-directed, and our involvement estimate is high: many families sit with the comic-style lessons even when an online version exists. The grade span in our data is 1–5. It is not a middle-school or high-school program. AoPS Online is the separate listing for older students.

Brave Writer

Brave Writer is a secular writing and language-arts program for K–12, built around literature. It is not a full lineup of math, science, and history. A price we could verify was not on the pages checked, so the price stays unknown. The site says high school class credit and transcripts are issued. That is not the same thing as school accreditation, so this listing keeps acc unmarked and quotes the credit note instead. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high: a parent is in the writing conversation. Pair it with a math program and, if you need a diploma from an accredited school, a separate school.

Math Mammoth

Math Mammoth’s Light Blue Series is a K–8 math curriculum. The publisher describes it as mastery-oriented, aimed at conceptual understanding and mental math, nearly self-teaching, and open-and-go, in digital and print versions, with free placement tests and free videos on the site. A current price was not captured on October 17, 2026, so the price stays unknown even though the approach is well described. Faith stance was not stated. Accreditation is n/a. The grade span stops at 8. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high, even with the “nearly self-teaching” line, because an adult still has to check the work and choose the level. Use the free placement test. Do not assume a grade number in another program equals the same Math Mammoth book.

Math-U-See

Math-U-See is a mastery math program arranged in levels rather than a single grade label, covering the K–12 span in this directory. It is math only. You still need a plan for reading and everything else. Accreditation is n/a. A verifiable current price was not captured on October 17, 2026, so the price stays unknown. Faith stance was not stated on the page we checked. A parent teaches; our involvement estimate is high, which fits a manipulative-based lesson where an adult presents the concept. Use the publisher’s placement test if one is offered. Do not jump levels because of age alone, and do not invent a price from memory.

RightStart Mathematics

RightStart Mathematics is hands-on math organized in levels for PreK–8. The page we checked showed a Level B book bundle at $109.25. That item price is the starting figure. It is one level’s book bundle, not a promise about manipulatives, later levels, or a full school year of every subject. Faith stance was not stated. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches with the materials; our involvement estimate is high. The grade tag stops at 8, so this is not a high-school math listing. If your child is older than the level names suggest, use RightStart’s placement guidance rather than the last grade they completed in another program.

Singapore Math

Singapore Math, in the Dimensions Math line this directory checked, is secular mastery math for PreK–8. The shop showed grade sets at prices such as $123 and $137. The starting figure is $123 for one grade set. That is an item price, not a full homeschool year and not a high-school sequence. The recorded grade span stops at 8. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches; involvement is estimated as high. If you need grades 9–12 math, this listing does not cover it. If you are comparing it with Math Mammoth, compare the grade set in your hand with Math Mammoth’s placement test, and remember one of the prices is unknown.

Frequently asked questions

What counts as an alternative to Saxon Math?

Another listing that shares a style tag, a program type, a stated faith stance, or an overlapping recorded grade span. The directory has no company-size field, so this page does not rank brands by size. Price is shown. It is not used to invent a cheaper winner when a price is unknown.

How much does Saxon Math cost?

Price as shown on October 17, 2026: unknown. No single yearly starting figure is stored. Confirm it on the official page.

Back to Saxon Math