Getting started homeschooling in Vermont

Not legal advice. This is a reading aid for the official source. It is not a law firm, and it is not a complete statement of the law. Last checked 2026-10-17.

Open the official source first: Vermont Agency of Education. The steps below repeat only the notes already recorded for Vermont. Where a note says the requirement was not stated, or that it is unknown, check official source. Do not fill the gap from a blog, a curriculum company, or another state.

How to use the recorded notes

CurriculumQuiz checked the linked government or statute page on 2026-10-17. The six notes are notice, subjects, days or hours, assessment, teacher qualifications, and records. A curriculum website can help you choose books. It is not the statute. When this page and a blog disagree, the linked official page wins. If that page is silent, the answer here stays unknown.

Rules change. A summary can be wrong, incomplete, or out of date. Confirm the linked page, and contact that agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts. Save a copy of the page or the form it names, with the date you read it.

1. Open the official source

The recorded source for Vermont is Vermont Agency of Education. Vermont Agency of Education. Read it yourself before you buy a curriculum or file a form.

2. Notice or registration

The page lists a Notice of Intent form, a first-year online enrollment, and an annual notice. A June 2026 note on the page says 2026–2027 enrollments and re-enrollments are open, and it tells families to get 2026–2027 paperwork in before the start of school in the district. The legal deadline, if it is different from that timeline note, was not stated in the text we captured.

If that note does not name a form, a deadline, or an office, the source we read did not give us one. Check official source before you mail or upload anything.

3. Subjects

The page links a Minimum Course of Study. The course list was not in the text we captured. unknown, check the Minimum Course of Study page.

A curriculum that lists those words is not, by itself, proof that a legal duty is met. Match your plan to the sentence above. Ask the agency when the sentence says the list was not stated.

4. Days and hours

Not stated on official source

Do not borrow a day count from another state. If this note does not state a number, we do not invent one.

5. Assessment

The page has an End of the Year Assessment section, a teacher end-of-year assessment, and a chart of accepted standardized tests. The standard a student must meet was not in the text we captured.

A test that comes with a curriculum is not the same thing as a test an agency requires. Use the sentence above.

6. Teacher qualifications

Not stated on official source

A college degree, a teaching certificate, and a high-school diploma are different things. Record only what this sentence names. If it names nothing, check official source.

7. Records

The first-year enrollment note says to attach a Vermont public school report card, an independent professional evidence form, or documented evidence of a disability. Other record rules were not stated in the captured text.

Online schools in this directory often keep a grade file. Print curricula usually leave the file with the parent. That describes the product. It is not a ruling that either one satisfies Vermont. Keep what the sentence names.

Withdrawing from public school

The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.

If you are leaving a public school, ask that school what it needs in order to drop the student from its roll. A district can have a local form that the state page does not quote. This page will not supply one.

After the official page, then a curriculum

The quiz ranks programs from grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation, and pace. It does not read the Vermont statute, and the state does not change the match percentage. It adds a link back to the state page. The quiz runs in the browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. It does not ask for a child's name.

Style guides on this site list programs by tags and grade spans that are already in the directory. They are not legal checklists: Charlotte Mason, classical, secular, free, and kindergarten.

Come back to the official URL when the school year turns over. If the agency page changed, write to hello-curriculumquiz@agentmail.to and we will re-check the source before we change this summary. You can also embed the short fact box from the state page.

Frequently asked questions

What notice does the Vermont source we read describe?

The page lists a Notice of Intent form, a first-year online enrollment, and an annual notice. A June 2026 note on the page says 2026–2027 enrollments and re-enrollments are open, and it tells families to get 2026–2027 paperwork in before the start of school in the district. The legal deadline, if it is different from that timeline note, was not stated in the text we captured. Not legal advice. Last checked 2026-10-17.

What subjects does the Vermont source we read name?

The page links a Minimum Course of Study. The course list was not in the text we captured. unknown, check the Minimum Course of Study page. If that sentence does not name subjects, check official source.

Does the recorded Vermont source describe withdrawing from public school?

The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.