Homeschooling in Vermont: official source
The Vermont Agency of Education home-study page lists a notice of intent, a first-year enrollment, an annual notice, a minimum course of study, and an end-of-year assessment. The captured text names those items and a 2026–2027 paperwork timeline. It does not include the course list, the hour rule, or the assessment standard.
Not legal advice. This page is a reading aid. It is not a law firm, and it does not restate every statute, regulation, or case. Confirm the linked source, because rules change, and contact the agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts.
Official source checked 2026-10-17: Vermont Agency of Education.
What Vermont requires
| Requirement | What the source says | Citation | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notice / registration | The page lists a Notice of Intent form, a first-year online enrollment, and an annual notice. A June 2026 note on the page says 2026–2027 enrollments and re-enrollments are open, and it tells families to get 2026–2027 paperwork in before the start of school in the district. The legal deadline, if it is different from that timeline note, was not stated in the text we captured. | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
| Required subjects | The page links a Minimum Course of Study. The course list was not in the text we captured. unknown, check the Minimum Course of Study page. | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
| Instruction days / hours | Not stated on official source | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
| Assessment / testing | The page has an End of the Year Assessment section, a teacher end-of-year assessment, and a chart of accepted standardized tests. The standard a student must meet was not in the text we captured. | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
| Teacher qualifications | Not stated on official source | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
| Record keeping | The first-year enrollment note says to attach a Vermont public school report card, an independent professional evidence form, or documented evidence of a disability. Other record rules were not stated in the captured text. | Vermont Agency of Education, Home Study | 2026-10-17 |
Choosing a curriculum that fits Vermont's rules
If the table names records, an assessment, or subjects, ask which provider keeps grades and which leaves that to you. Online schools usually keep the file. Print curricula usually leave it to the parent. That is a description of the program type, not a ranking. Tuition-free online public schools, such as those powered by K12 Online School or Connections Academy, are available only in some states. Check each provider's site for Vermont. Where a row says the requirement is unknown, do not guess from another state.
Not sure which program fits?
Answer eight questions and get a ranked shortlist with a match score. Your state adds this official link. It does not change the score. The quiz runs in your browser, and we store nothing.