Getting started homeschooling in Arizona
Not legal advice. This is a reading aid for the official source. It is not a law firm, and it is not a complete statement of the law. Last checked 2026-10-17.
Open the official source first: Arizona State Legislature (A.R.S. 15-802). The steps below repeat only the notes already recorded for Arizona. Where a note says the requirement was not stated, or that it is unknown, check official source. Do not fill the gap from a blog, a curriculum company, or another state.
How to use the recorded notes
CurriculumQuiz checked the linked government or statute page on 2026-10-17. The six notes are notice, subjects, days or hours, assessment, teacher qualifications, and records. A curriculum website can help you choose books. It is not the statute. When this page and a blog disagree, the linked official page wins. If that page is silent, the answer here stays unknown.
Rules change. A summary can be wrong, incomplete, or out of date. Confirm the linked page, and contact that agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts. Save a copy of the page or the form it names, with the date you read it.
1. Open the official source
The recorded source for Arizona is Arizona State Legislature (A.R.S. 15-802). Arizona State Legislature (A.R.S. 15-802). Read it yourself before you buy a curriculum or file a form.
2. Notice or registration
If the child will attend a homeschool, the person with custody must file an affidavit of intent with the county school superintendent within 30 days of starting. It is not required again unless instruction stops and then resumes. The affidavit includes the child's name, date of birth, the current address of the school the child is attending, and the names, telephone numbers, and addresses of the persons who currently have custody.
If that note does not name a form, a deadline, or an office, the source we read did not give us one. Check official source before you mail or upload anything.
3. Subjects
Every child age 6 through 16 shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, and science. The custodian chooses a public, private, or charter school or a homeschool.
A curriculum that lists those words is not, by itself, proof that a legal duty is met. Match your plan to the sentence above. Ask the agency when the sentence says the list was not stated.
4. Days and hours
The statute's day-and-hour sentence is in the definition of a private school, which means a nonpublic institution other than the child's home. A separate homeschool day or hour count is not stated in section 15-802 as we read it.
Do not borrow a day count from another state. If this note does not state a number, we do not invent one.
5. Assessment
Not stated on official source
A test that comes with a curriculum is not the same thing as a test an agency requires. Use the sentence above.
6. Teacher qualifications
Not stated on official source
A college degree, a teaching certificate, and a high-school diploma are different things. Record only what this sentence names. If it names nothing, check official source.
7. Records
The affidavit fields listed above are the records section 15-802 requires the custodian to file. A portfolio or attendance log for homeschools is not stated in this section.
Online schools in this directory often keep a grade file. Print curricula usually leave the file with the parent. That describes the product. It is not a ruling that either one satisfies Arizona. Keep what the sentence names.
Withdrawing from public school
The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.
If you are leaving a public school, ask that school what it needs in order to drop the student from its roll. A district can have a local form that the state page does not quote. This page will not supply one.
After the official page, then a curriculum
The quiz ranks programs from grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation, and pace. It does not read the Arizona statute, and the state does not change the match percentage. It adds a link back to the state page. The quiz runs in the browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. It does not ask for a child's name.
Style guides on this site list programs by tags and grade spans that are already in the directory. They are not legal checklists: Charlotte Mason, classical, secular, free, and kindergarten.
Come back to the official URL when the school year turns over. If the agency page changed, write to hello-curriculumquiz@agentmail.to and we will re-check the source before we change this summary. You can also embed the short fact box from the state page.
Frequently asked questions
What notice does the Arizona source we read describe?
If the child will attend a homeschool, the person with custody must file an affidavit of intent with the county school superintendent within 30 days of starting. It is not required again unless instruction stops and then resumes. The affidavit includes the child's name, date of birth, the current address of the school the child is attending, and the names, telephone numbers, and addresses of the persons who currently have custody. Not legal advice. Last checked 2026-10-17.
What subjects does the Arizona source we read name?
Every child age 6 through 16 shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, and science. The custodian chooses a public, private, or charter school or a homeschool. If that sentence does not name subjects, check official source.
Does the recorded Arizona source describe withdrawing from public school?
The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.