BYU Independent Study
High/middle school: $229 per 0.5-credit standard course; $329 specialized; $130 best value (effective Aug 1, 2026)
No numeric independent rating
Online Course Providers
In short: UC Scout is listed as online course providers, for High school. The plans page describes On Demand as accredited online high school courses, and the site describes A–G and AP courses.. Price as shown: Enrollment is per student, per course, per semester. Basic, course videos as a supplement: $0 for California public school students using a promo code, and $29 per enrollment for California private school students and all out-of-state students. Plus, a teacher curriculum: $0 for California public school teachers and $49 for California private school and out-of-state teachers. On Demand, accredited courses offered directly to students: $399 per enrollment. Scholarships are mentioned for eligible California students. The Plus prices are teacher access, not a student tuition.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 26, 2026.
Price as shown on October 26, 2026: Enrollment is per student, per course, per semester. Basic, course videos as a supplement: $0 for California public school students using a promo code, and $29 per enrollment for California private school students and all out-of-state students. Plus, a teacher curriculum: $0 for California public school teachers and $49 for California private school and out-of-state teachers. On Demand, accredited courses offered directly to students: $399 per enrollment. Scholarships are mentioned for eligible California students. The Plus prices are teacher access, not a student tuition.. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $399.00. Billing terms recorded with that figure: On Demand, per student per course per semester. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does UC Scout cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.
Price source: official page. Listing page: https://www.ucscout.org/.
UC Scout offers online high school courses from the University of California. The plans page lists three ways to get the courses. Basic is video lessons a student can use as a supplement. It is $0 for California public school students who use a promo code, and $29 per enrollment for California private school students and all out-of-state students. Plus is a bundled curriculum for teachers. It is $0 for California public school teachers and $49 per enrollment for California private school and out-of-state teachers. On Demand is described as accredited, flexible online high school courses offered directly to students, at $399 per enrollment. Enrollment on that page means per student, per course, per semester. Scholarships are available for eligible California students. The starting figure is $399, the On Demand course, because that is the accredited course a student takes from UC Scout. The $0 and $29 Basic prices are a supplement, and the Plus prices are for teachers. A full year of several courses would be several enrollments. The plans text calls On Demand accredited and does not name the accrediting body in the sentences that loaded. Basic says the school, not UC Scout, provides credit. The matcher uses grades 9–12. A faith statement was not on the plans page. The phone is (408) 450-4962 and the email is ucscout@ucsc.edu. Lessons are online. Our involvement estimate is low for the course itself. A parent still has to cover every subject UC Scout is not teaching. The $399 figure is one course for one semester, not a diploma.
UC Scout is filed under online course providers. People also search UC Scout, University of California Scout. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.
Price as shown: “Enrollment is per student, per course, per semester. Basic, course videos as a supplement: $0 for California public school students using a promo code, and $29 per enrollment for California private school students and all out-of-state students. Plus, a teacher curriculum: $0 for California public school teachers and $49 for California private school and out-of-state teachers. On Demand, accredited courses offered directly to students: $399 per enrollment. Scholarships are mentioned for eligible California students. The Plus prices are teacher access, not a student tuition..” The starting figure is $399.00. That number is On Demand, per student per course per semester. It is not a full-year total for every subject and every child. If you line it up next to a school tuition, you are comparing different kinds of purchases. Source: official price page, checked October 26, 2026.
UC Scout is listed for High school. The plans page describes On Demand as accredited online high school courses, and the site describes A–G and AP courses.. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 9 through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.
Accreditation, in the provider’s words: “The plans page calls On Demand accredited, flexible online high school courses offered directly to students. A named accreditor was not in the plans text that loaded. Basic says credit is provided by the school..” We mark an accredited option because the official site describes one. Marking it is not a promise that every book, every plan, or every campus is covered, or that your state or a future school will accept the record. Ask which body accredited it, what the certificate covers, and whether the plan you would buy is the accredited one.
Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.
Online courses are classes you add. They are not always a full school. For UC Scout, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Self-paced means your family, not a bell, decides when the lesson happens. For UC Scout, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Self-paced delivery means the student can move without a live class on the calendar. Parent time is our estimate: low. We file it that way because of the program type, not because we timed a real week in your kitchen. Low means an adult enrolls, checks in, and handles problems, while a teacher, a video, or a school presents most of the lesson. It can still take time to keep a child at the desk.
These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.
Recorded from the official site on October 26, 2026: Phone on the plans page: (408) 450-4962. Email ucscout@ucsc.edu. The $0 and $29 Basic prices are a video supplement. The $399 On Demand price is the student course stored as the starting figure. A trademark note says Scout is a trademark of the Boy Scouts of America, used under license. ©2026 Regents of the University of California. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.
Still unknown after the October 26, 2026 check: a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.
The curriculum quiz ranks UC Scout against the other 127 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at BYU Independent Study, Derek Owens, Nicole the Math Lady in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.
CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with UC Scout unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.
No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 26, 2026.
As shown on the official page on October 26, 2026: Enrollment is per student, per course, per semester. Basic, course videos as a supplement: $0 for California public school students using a promo code, and $29 per enrollment for California private school students and all out-of-state students. Plus, a teacher curriculum: $0 for California public school teachers and $49 for California private school and out-of-state teachers. On Demand, accredited courses offered directly to students: $399 per enrollment. Scholarships are mentioned for eligible California students. The Plus prices are teacher access, not a student tuition.. The starting figure used for sorting is $399.00 (On Demand, per student per course per semester). Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.
Grades listed: High school. The plans page describes On Demand as accredited online high school courses, and the site describes A–G and AP courses.. Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.
The plans page calls On Demand accredited, flexible online high school courses offered directly to students. A named accreditor was not in the plans text that loaded. Basic says credit is provided by the school.. An accredited option is recorded. Ask what it covers.
Not stated, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.
High/middle school: $229 per 0.5-credit standard course; $329 specialized; $130 best value (effective Aug 1, 2026)
No numeric independent rating
Online: $15 to enroll, then $65 monthly while enrolled. Nine months is the maximum. A course finished very quickly has a three-month minimum when the teacher grades the papers. Parent grading is $32.50. Live classes are labeled 2025-2026: $85 or $95 by course.
No numeric independent rating
Math Pass $79.00 per year for 1 student, 365-day access to video lessons, online grading, Drill Team, and Learning Lab. Textbooks are purchased separately. School and ESA orders are also $79.00 per student per year.
No numeric independent rating
For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.
Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.