Sonlight alternatives

Sonlight is filed as curricula (print & mixed), PreK-12, christian. Price as shown: unknown. The alternatives below are other listings with a shared style, type, faith, or grade span. This is not a ranking by company size, and it is not a quiz result.

The set is the eight listings with the strongest overlap on those fields. They are then shown in directory order: Sponsored placement first when a listing has it, then the independent average. Sponsored does not change the facts in the cells. The independent average is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Where a price says unknown, we did not estimate a yearly cost from a neighbor.

Read the Sonlight listing for the sourced price, grades, and reviews. Head-to-head pages that include it: Sonlight vs My Father's World. The compare tool can hold it next to any other listing. The quiz runs in your browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. State requirements are on the state pages, which are not legal advice.

ProgramShared stylesTypeFaithPrice as shownGrades
Abeka Homeschoolnonesame typeChristianAbeka Academy, Video & Books: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40 x 10-month plan; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40 x 10; K5 $98.40/$93.40 x 10. Other plans on page.PreK-12
Alpha Omega Publicationsnonesame typeChristianMonarch: $439.95/yr per student full access (or $43.95/mo); single course $109.95/yr (or $10.95/mo)PreK-12
Apologianonesame typeChristianExample: Astronomy Build-Your-Own Set $84.60 sale (list $94.00); items priced individuallyK-12
Brave Writerliterature-basedsame typeSecularunknownK-12 (writing & language arts)
Heart of Dakotaliterature-basedsame typeChristianunknownPreK-12
Master Booksnonesame typeChristianIndividual books shown (e.g., $27.99)PreK-12
My Father's Worldliterature-basedsame typeChristianunknownPreK-12
The Good and the Beautifulliterature-basedsame typeNot statedIndividual items shown from about $17.99 (varies)PreK-12

Abeka Homeschool

Abeka Homeschool is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 with traditional and video paths. The Abeka Academy pricing page shows a 10-month plan for Video & Books: accredited grades 1–6 at $148.40 a month, unaccredited grades 1–6 at $143.40 a month, and K5 at $98.40 or $93.40 a month. Other plans are on that page. The starting figure used here, $1,434, is the unaccredited grades 1–6 plan across 10 months, not a quote for high school or for every child. Abeka lists both accredited and unaccredited video options, so “accredited” on this page means an option exists, not that every box of books is an accredited school. Read the plan name before you compare it with a full-year tuition.

Alpha Omega Publications

Alpha Omega Publications (often searched as AOP or Monarch) is a Christian workbook and online curriculum for PreK–12. The Monarch page lists full access at $439.95 per student per year, or $43.95 a month, and a single course at $109.95 a year or $10.95 a month. The starting figure is the full-access yearly price. The Monarch FAQ on aop.com says Monarch is not accredited, so this listing is not marked as an accredited school. Delivery is tagged both self-paced and parent-directed. Our involvement estimate is high: someone still oversees the work even when the lessons are on a screen. Confirm whether you are pricing Monarch, a printed workbook line, or a single course.

Apologia

Apologia is a Christian science publisher for K–12. Items are priced one by one. The shop example we recorded is the Astronomy Build-Your-Own Set at $84.60 on sale, list $94.00. That is an example, not a yearly science budget and not a full curriculum, so there is no annual starting figure. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches from the textbook; our involvement estimate is high. You would add math, language arts, and history from somewhere else. When you compare science costs, compare the specific course (elementary science versus high-school biology) and check whether the sale price is still the price. A single kit on sale is not “the cost of Apologia.”

Brave Writer

Brave Writer is a secular writing and language-arts program for K–12, built around literature. It is not a full lineup of math, science, and history. A price we could verify was not on the pages checked, so the price stays unknown. The site says high school class credit and transcripts are issued. That is not the same thing as school accreditation, so this listing keeps acc unmarked and quotes the credit note instead. Delivery is parent-directed and our involvement estimate is high: a parent is in the writing conversation. Pair it with a math program and, if you need a diploma from an accredited school, a separate school.

Heart of Dakota

Heart of Dakota is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12 in the Charlotte Mason and literature-based tags. A parent teaches. Accreditation is n/a, and a package price was not verified on the check date, so the price stays unknown. Our involvement estimate is high: these guides are written for a parent to lead short lessons and read-alouds. If you are deciding among Charlotte Mason options, AmblesideOnline is a free schedule, Master Books is tagged Charlotte Mason and workbook, and My Father's World adds unit study. Heart of Dakota’s price has to come from the publisher. We will not estimate it from similar programs.

Master Books

Master Books is a Christian publisher for PreK–12, tagged Charlotte Mason and workbook. The shop shows individual books, for example $27.99. One book is not a year, so we did not set an annual starting price. Accreditation was not confirmed and stays unknown. Delivery is both self-paced and parent-directed: some books are written for a student to do, and a parent still oversees them. Our involvement estimate is high. If you want a packaged classical set with a posted preschool price, see Memoria Press. If you want a free Charlotte Mason schedule, see AmblesideOnline. For Master Books, add up the books you would actually buy this year. The example price is only an example.

My Father's World

My Father's World is a Christian curriculum for PreK–12. In this directory its styles are unit study, literature-based, and Charlotte Mason, and delivery is parent-directed. We could not verify a current package price or an accreditation statement on the official pages checked October 17, 2026. Both stay unknown. Our involvement estimate is high: unit studies and living books are taught by a parent, often with more than one child in the same topic. If you are comparing it with Sonlight, compare the daily shape (one topic across subjects versus a literature list) and then ask each publisher for a current price. Do not fill the blank with a guess.

The Good and the Beautiful

The Good and the Beautiful is a literature-based curriculum for PreK–12. The official shop shows individual items, including prices from about $17.99, and those prices vary. We did not turn a single item into a yearly total, so there is no annual starting figure. Accreditation was not confirmed, and the pages we checked did not clearly label the program religious or secular, so faith stays not stated. Parent involvement is estimated as high because the style is parent-directed literature. Families who want a stated faith stance should read the samples and the publisher’s own description rather than rely on this directory to assign one.

Frequently asked questions

What counts as an alternative to Sonlight?

Another listing that shares a style tag, a program type, a stated faith stance, or an overlapping recorded grade span. The directory has no company-size field, so this page does not rank brands by size. Price is shown. It is not used to invent a cheaper winner when a price is unknown.

How much does Sonlight cost?

Price as shown on October 17, 2026: unknown. No single yearly starting figure is stored. Confirm it on the official page.

Back to Sonlight