In short: Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding is listed as curricula (print & mixed), for The community site says BFSU is a complete science curriculum for grades K–8.. Price as shown: unknown. The community site loaded and did not print a dollar price for the texts.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 28, 2026.
Price as shown on October 28, 2026: unknown. The community site loaded and did not print a dollar price for the texts.. No single yearly starting figure is stored for this listing. The official page did not state a billing term we recorded as a yearly or monthly plan. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.
Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding is a K–8 science curriculum. The community site says it is a complete science program for grades K–8, with hands-on lesson plans that move through life, earth, physical, and a fourth field of science in step with one another. The page says the texts are used for homeschool or for a classroom, and it names Dr. Bernie Nebel as the person to tell about broken links. The matcher uses kindergarten through grade 8. The site loaded and did not print a dollar price for the books, so the price stays unknown. A forum login is not a price. A short user line on the homepage is not stored as an independent review. Accreditation is n/a. A faith statement was not on the page. A parent or teacher leads the investigations. Our involvement estimate is high. The missing price is a blank to ask the publisher about, not a guess from another science series.
Where this listing sits
Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding is filed under curricula (print & mixed). People also search Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding, BFSU, Bernie Nebel. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.
The price, read carefully
We could not verify a price for Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding on October 28, 2026. The price stays unknown. We will not borrow a number from a review, a Facebook group, or a similar program. Ask the provider, and keep their answer with your notes. The page we checked is the official site, and the price source we recorded is this official URL.
Grades
Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding is listed for The community site says BFSU is a complete science curriculum for grades K–8.. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 0 through grade 8. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.
Accreditation and faith
Accreditation is recorded as “n/a.” This listing is not marked as an accredited school. Many families use curricula that are not schools and keep their own records. That is a legal and practical question for your state and for any school you might transfer back to, not a quality score. See what accreditation does and does not mean.
Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.
How the day is shaped
Science
This is science. It does not, by itself, cover every subject. For Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Hands-on
Hands-on lessons use objects you can hold, not only a page of problems. For Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Parent-directed delivery means a parent sets the pace and is usually in the lesson. Parent time is our estimate: high. A parent teaches, reads aloud, or guides the conversation most days. We estimate that from the program type (parent-directed books, living books, or mastery lessons), not from a stopwatch. If that is the part of homeschooling you want, this shape can fit. If you need the program to run while you work a shift, look at listings with a low estimate and then read their delivery tags.
Who it may suit
- You are willing to read the publisher’s own words about faith, because the page we checked did not state one.
- You want to teach, read aloud, or sit in the lesson.
Who may want a different listing
- You cannot be the teacher on a normal week.
- You need an accredited diploma and this listing does not record one.
These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.
What the official site itself describes
Recorded from the official site on October 28, 2026: The page names Dr. Bernie Nebel and says the lesson plans are for homeschool or classroom use. A short user quotation on the page is not stored as a review. Forums require a login. No textbook price was printed. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.
Questions to ask before you pay
- Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
- Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
- Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
- What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
- On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?
What we are willing to leave blank
Still unknown after the October 28, 2026 check: a verified price, a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.
How to use this page with the quiz
The curriculum quiz ranks Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding against the other 147 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at A Reason For, Abeka Homeschool, All About Learning Press in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.
CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with Building Foundations of Scientific Understanding unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · The shop navigation lists kindergarten through 8th grade. Prices below are from the second-grade collection only.
Second-grade collection, sale prices as labeled: Handwriting Manuscript Number Practice Pages, digital download, $5.95. Handwriting border sheets $9.95. Handwriting Level B student worktext $23.95. Level B handwriting bundle $34.85. Handwriting Level T student worktext $23.95. Spelling Level B student worktext, 2nd edition, $25.95. Spelling Level B teacher guidebook $47.95. Science Level B student worktext $23.95. Science Level B teacher guidebook $59.95. Science Level B refill kit $109.95. Science Level B materials kit $179.95. A Reason For Reading teacher resource set $479.95. A Reason For Reading, all 95 books, $329.95. Early reader sets $33.95 and $37.95.
No numeric independent rating
workbookChristian
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12
Abeka Academy, Video & Books, 10-month plan: K4 accredited not offered, unaccredited K4 $58.40; accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40; K5 $98.40/$93.40; accredited Gr 7-8 $175.40 and unaccredited $170.40; accredited Gr 9-12 $188.40 and unaccredited $178.40.
No numeric independent rating
traditionalvideoChristianAccredited option
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · All About Math K-5; All About Reading Pre-Reading through Level 4
All About Reading Level 1 materials $159.95 (teacher's manual and student packet)
No numeric independent rating
phonicsmasteryNot stated
Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.