Getting started homeschooling in Oklahoma

Not legal advice. This is a reading aid for the official source. It is not a law firm, and it is not a complete statement of the law. Last checked 2026-10-17.

Open the official source first: Oklahoma State Department of Education. The steps below repeat only the notes already recorded for Oklahoma. Where a note says the requirement was not stated, or that it is unknown, check official source. Do not fill the gap from a blog, a curriculum company, or another state.

How to use the recorded notes

CurriculumQuiz checked the linked government or statute page on 2026-10-17. The six notes are notice, subjects, days or hours, assessment, teacher qualifications, and records. A curriculum website can help you choose books. It is not the statute. When this page and a blog disagree, the linked official page wins. If that page is silent, the answer here stays unknown.

Rules change. A summary can be wrong, incomplete, or out of date. Confirm the linked page, and contact that agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts. Save a copy of the page or the form it names, with the date you read it.

1. Open the official source

The recorded source for Oklahoma is Oklahoma State Department of Education. Oklahoma State Department of Education. Read it yourself before you buy a curriculum or file a form.

2. Notice or registration

The page says Oklahoma law does not require parents to register with or seek approval from state or local officials.

If that note does not name a form, a deadline, or an office, the source we read did not give us one. Check official source before you mail or upload anything.

3. Subjects

The page says there is no required state-approved curriculum. It then lists reading, writing, math, science, citizenship, the U.S. Constitution, health, safety, physical education, and conservation as required school subjects under Oklahoma law, inside a section it introduces as recommendations that are not required by law. Treat that list as the department's recommendation language, and read the page before treating it as a homeschool mandate.

A curriculum that lists those words is not, by itself, proof that a legal duty is met. Match your plan to the sentence above. Ask the agency when the sentence says the list was not stated.

4. Days and hours

The page says a homeschool setting should maintain the equivalent of 180 days and six clock hours, or 360 minutes, per day, and it says these recommendations are not required by law.

Do not borrow a day count from another state. If this note does not state a number, we do not invent one.

5. Assessment

The page says the law does not require parents to conduct state testing. It says a student who re-enters public school takes a standardized achievement test used for placement.

A test that comes with a curriculum is not the same thing as a test an agency requires. Use the sentence above.

6. Teacher qualifications

The page says the Attorney General has ruled that home instruction does not require a certified teacher, and that the instruction must be supplied in good faith and be equivalent to the education provided by the state.

A college degree, a teaching certificate, and a high-school diploma are different things. Record only what this sentence names. If it names nothing, check official source.

7. Records

Not stated on official source

Online schools in this directory often keep a grade file. Print curricula usually leave the file with the parent. That describes the product. It is not a ruling that either one satisfies Oklahoma. Keep what the sentence names.

Withdrawing from public school

The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.

If you are leaving a public school, ask that school what it needs in order to drop the student from its roll. A district can have a local form that the state page does not quote. This page will not supply one.

After the official page, then a curriculum

The quiz ranks programs from grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation, and pace. It does not read the Oklahoma statute, and the state does not change the match percentage. It adds a link back to the state page. The quiz runs in the browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. It does not ask for a child's name.

Style guides on this site list programs by tags and grade spans that are already in the directory. They are not legal checklists: Charlotte Mason, classical, secular, free, and kindergarten.

Come back to the official URL when the school year turns over. If the agency page changed, write to hello-curriculumquiz@agentmail.to and we will re-check the source before we change this summary. You can also embed the short fact box from the state page.

Frequently asked questions

What notice does the Oklahoma source we read describe?

The page says Oklahoma law does not require parents to register with or seek approval from state or local officials. Not legal advice. Last checked 2026-10-17.

What subjects does the Oklahoma source we read name?

The page says there is no required state-approved curriculum. It then lists reading, writing, math, science, citizenship, the U.S. Constitution, health, safety, physical education, and conservation as required school subjects under Oklahoma law, inside a section it introduces as recommendations that are not required by law. Treat that list as the department's recommendation language, and read the page before treating it as a homeschool mandate. If that sentence does not name subjects, check official source.

Does the recorded Oklahoma source describe withdrawing from public school?

The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.