Getting started homeschooling in Kentucky
Not legal advice. This is a reading aid for the official source. It is not a law firm, and it is not a complete statement of the law. Last checked 2026-10-17.
Open the official source first: Kentucky Department of Education. The steps below repeat only the notes already recorded for Kentucky. Where a note says the requirement was not stated, or that it is unknown, check official source. Do not fill the gap from a blog, a curriculum company, or another state.
How to use the recorded notes
CurriculumQuiz checked the linked government or statute page on 2026-10-17. The six notes are notice, subjects, days or hours, assessment, teacher qualifications, and records. A curriculum website can help you choose books. It is not the statute. When this page and a blog disagree, the linked official page wins. If that page is silent, the answer here stays unknown.
Rules change. A summary can be wrong, incomplete, or out of date. Confirm the linked page, and contact that agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts. Save a copy of the page or the form it names, with the date you read it.
1. Open the official source
The recorded source for Kentucky is Kentucky Department of Education. Kentucky Department of Education. Read it yourself before you buy a curriculum or file a form.
2. Notice or registration
The packet says to notify the local board of education in the community where you reside of your intent to homeschool. The letter must include the names, ages, and home address of each child in attendance. The packet says a district cannot reject the letter, and it says the notice must be resubmitted annually.
If that note does not name a form, a deadline, or an office, the source we read did not give us one. Check official source before you mail or upload anything.
3. Subjects
The packet says the department may not prescribe curriculum. A required subject list was not stated in the portion we read.
A curriculum that lists those words is not, by itself, proof that a legal duty is met. Match your plan to the sentence above. Ask the agency when the sentence says the list was not stated.
4. Days and hours
The packet says the public-school minimum is at least 1,062 hours of instructional time in no fewer than 170 student attendance days. It then says there is not a minimum school term required for non-certified homeschools, and that the department recommends homeschools meet those figures.
Do not borrow a day count from another state. If this note does not state a number, we do not invent one.
5. Assessment
Not stated on official source
A test that comes with a curriculum is not the same thing as a test an agency requires. Use the sentence above.
6. Teacher qualifications
The packet says that, under Kentucky State Board for Elementary and Secondary Education v. Rudasill, the department may not prescribe teacher certification for homeschooling.
A college degree, a teaching certificate, and a high-school diploma are different things. Record only what this sentence names. If it names nothing, check official source.
7. Records
The packet says homeschools must maintain attendance records to show a bona fide school is operating. It cites KRS 159.040 for a register and says the department allows digital or paper records. Those records must be open to inspection by the local director of pupil personnel and department officials. The packet also says homeschools must keep scholarship reports.
Online schools in this directory often keep a grade file. Print curricula usually leave the file with the parent. That describes the product. It is not a ruling that either one satisfies Kentucky. Keep what the sentence names.
Withdrawing from public school
The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.
If you are leaving a public school, ask that school what it needs in order to drop the student from its roll. A district can have a local form that the state page does not quote. This page will not supply one.
After the official page, then a curriculum
The quiz ranks programs from grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation, and pace. It does not read the Kentucky statute, and the state does not change the match percentage. It adds a link back to the state page. The quiz runs in the browser. Quiz answers are never stored or sent. The site uses Google Analytics, which sets cookies, for anonymous usage stats. It does not ask for a child's name.
Style guides on this site list programs by tags and grade spans that are already in the directory. They are not legal checklists: Charlotte Mason, classical, secular, free, and kindergarten.
Come back to the official URL when the school year turns over. If the agency page changed, write to hello-curriculumquiz@agentmail.to and we will re-check the source before we change this summary. You can also embed the short fact box from the state page.
Frequently asked questions
What notice does the Kentucky source we read describe?
The packet says to notify the local board of education in the community where you reside of your intent to homeschool. The letter must include the names, ages, and home address of each child in attendance. The packet says a district cannot reject the letter, and it says the notice must be resubmitted annually. Not legal advice. Last checked 2026-10-17.
What subjects does the Kentucky source we read name?
The packet says the department may not prescribe curriculum. A required subject list was not stated in the portion we read. If that sentence does not name subjects, check official source.
Does the recorded Kentucky source describe withdrawing from public school?
The text recorded from the official source does not describe withdrawing from public school. This page does not add a withdrawal rule. Ask the school the child attends, and check official source.