Homeschooling in District of Columbia: official source
The Office of the State Superintendent of Education says a parent files a notice at least 15 business days before home instruction, files a continuation by August 15 to continue, and keeps a portfolio. The program must cover eight named subject areas, and the parent must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent unless OSSE grants a waiver.
Not legal advice. This page is a reading aid. It is not a law firm, and it does not restate every statute, regulation, or case. Confirm the linked source, because rules change, and contact the agency or a qualified attorney about your own facts.
Official source checked 2026-10-17: DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education.
What District of Columbia requires
| Requirement | What the source says | Citation | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notice / registration | Parents or legal guardians must complete a Notification of Intent to Homeschool at least 15 business days before the first date of home instruction. To continue, they must complete a Notification of Homeschool Continuation by August 15. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
| Required subjects | Programs must provide thorough and regular instruction of sufficient duration and, at a minimum, include language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, art, music, health, and physical education. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
| Instruction days / hours | The page requires instruction of sufficient duration. It does not state a number of days or hours. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
| Assessment / testing | The portfolio must include evidence of the student's current work, and the page's examples include assessments. A separate required test was not stated on this page. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
| Teacher qualifications | To administer a homeschooling program, a parent or legal guardian must have a high school diploma or its equivalent, or petition OSSE for a waiver with evidence they can provide a thorough and regular education. They may not provide home instruction to another parent's students. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
| Record keeping | Parents must maintain a portfolio of education materials, including evidence of current work such as writing, mathematics, and assessments, for at least one year, and make it available to OSSE on request. | DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education | 2026-10-17 |
Choosing a curriculum that fits District of Columbia's rules
If the table names records, an assessment, or subjects, ask which provider keeps grades and which leaves that to you. Online schools usually keep the file. Print curricula usually leave it to the parent. That is a description of the program type, not a ranking. Tuition-free online public schools, such as those powered by K12 Online School or Connections Academy, are available only in some states. Check each provider's site for District of Columbia. Where a row says the requirement is unknown, do not guess from another state.
Not sure which program fits?
Answer eight questions and get a ranked shortlist with a match score. Your state adds this official link. It does not change the score. The quiz runs in your browser, and we store nothing.