Online Schools

NorthStar Academy: price, grades, and fit

In short: NorthStar Academy is listed as online schools, for 4-12. Price as shown: Year-long course $895; semester course $515; registration $185 per student per school year. 4th-6th full-time example $3,765 (four year-long courses plus registration).. Faith: Christian. Checked October 21, 2026.

Key facts

Type
Online Schools
Price as shown
Year-long course $895; semester course $515; registration $185 per student per school year. 4th-6th full-time example $3,765 (four year-long courses plus registration).
Starting figure
$515.00
What that figure is
one semester course
Grades
4-12
Accreditation
Dual accreditation from Middle States Association (MSA) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) since November 2005. NCAA-approved courses in VRP/FLEX and EVP/LIVE.
Faith
Christian
Styles
online school, self-paced, live online classes
Delivery
self, live
Parent involvement
low (our estimate, from program type)
Checked
October 21, 2026

NorthStar Academy cost 2026

Price as shown on October 21, 2026: Year-long course $895; semester course $515; registration $185 per student per school year. 4th-6th full-time example $3,765 (four year-long courses plus registration).. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $515.00. Billing terms recorded with that figure: one semester course. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does NorthStar Academy cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.

Price source: official page. Listing page: https://www.northstar-academy.org/.

NorthStar Academy is a Christian online school for grades 4–12. The tuition page lists a year-long course at $895 and a semester course at $515, plus a $185 registration fee per student each school year. A 4th–6th full-time example is $3,765, described as four courses at $895, and the page says the registration fee is included in that example. AP and dual-credit courses cost more, and the page does not print those higher prices. The starting figure is $515, one semester course, not a full-time year. The school says it has held dual accreditation from the Middle States Association (MSA) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) since November 2005, and that NCAA-approved courses are offered in VRP/FLEX and EVP/LIVE. NSA Flex courses are asynchronous, so a student can choose when to work. NSA Live is a separate enriched program for grades 8–12. Our involvement estimate is low because teachers grade the work. Price the load you would enroll, not the semester example.

Where this listing sits

NorthStar Academy is filed under online schools. People also search NorthStar Academy, NSA. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.

The price, read carefully

Price as shown: “Year-long course $895; semester course $515; registration $185 per student per school year. 4th-6th full-time example $3,765 (four year-long courses plus registration)..” The starting figure is $515.00. That number is one semester course. It is not a full-year total for every subject and every child. If you line it up next to a school tuition, you are comparing different kinds of purchases. Source: official price page, checked October 21, 2026.

Grades

NorthStar Academy is listed for 4-12. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 4 through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.

Accreditation and faith

Accreditation, in the provider’s words: “Dual accreditation from Middle States Association (MSA) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) since November 2005. NCAA-approved courses in VRP/FLEX and EVP/LIVE..” We mark an accredited option because the official site describes one. Marking it is not a promise that every book, every plan, or every campus is covered, or that your state or a future school will accept the record. Ask which body accredited it, what the certificate covers, and whether the plan you would buy is the accredited one.

Faith stance recorded from how the provider describes the program: Christian. That is a description, not a rating. A Christian tag does not tell you how doctrine is handled. A secular tag means we did not record a religious claim. Catholic is more specific than Christian, and the quiz treats them differently when you ask for Catholic materials.

How the day is shaped

Online school

An online school enrolls a child as a student. Teachers or the school usually keep grades. Families give up some control of the clock in exchange for a lighter teaching load. For NorthStar Academy, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Self-paced

Self-paced means your family, not a bell, decides when the lesson happens. For NorthStar Academy, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Live online classes

Live classes meet at a set time with a teacher. Someone has to be free when class starts. For NorthStar Academy, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Self-paced delivery means the student can move without a live class on the calendar. Live delivery means at least part of the program happens at a scheduled time. Parent time is our estimate: low. We file it that way because of the program type, not because we timed a real week in your kitchen. Low means an adult enrolls, checks in, and handles problems, while a teacher, a video, or a school presents most of the lesson. It can still take time to keep a child at the desk.

Who it may suit

  • You want materials the publisher presents as Christian.
  • You want an option the provider describes as accredited, and you will still ask which body and which grades that covers.
  • You need a teacher, a school, or a video lesson to carry most of the instruction.

Who may want a different listing

  • You want to design every lesson yourself.
  • You want strictly secular materials.

These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.

What the official site itself describes

Recorded from the official site on October 21, 2026: The site calls itself a fully accredited private online Christian school for grades 4-12. NSA Flex is the virtual program and is asynchronous; students can work at their own pace. NSA Live is the enriched virtual program, with courses in 8th-12th grade. The 4th-6th full-time example is $3,765, and the page says the annual registration fee is included in the full-time examples. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.

Questions to ask before you pay

  • Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
  • Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
  • Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or NorthStar Academy? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
  • What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
  • On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?

What we are willing to leave blank

The core fields for this listing were present on the official pages we checked. Prices and policies still change. The check date is October 21, 2026, not a lifetime warranty.

How to use this page with the quiz

The curriculum quiz ranks NorthStar Academy against the other 78 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at Acellus Academy, K12 Online School, Connections Academy in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.

CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with NorthStar Academy unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.

Independent reviews & ratings

No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 21, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How much does NorthStar Academy cost?

As shown on the official page on October 21, 2026: Year-long course $895; semester course $515; registration $185 per student per school year. 4th-6th full-time example $3,765 (four year-long courses plus registration).. The starting figure used for sorting is $515.00 (one semester course). Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.

What grades does NorthStar Academy cover?

Grades listed: 4-12. Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.

Is NorthStar Academy accredited?

Dual accreditation from Middle States Association (MSA) and the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) since November 2005. NCAA-approved courses in VRP/FLEX and EVP/LIVE.. An accredited option is recorded. Ask what it covers.

Is NorthStar Academy religious or secular?

Christian, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.

Similar listings

Online Schools · K-12

Acellus Academy

Basic 249 dollars/month, or 79 dollars/month with the Roger Billings Scholarship; Enhanced $299/month; Premium $499/month

Independent average 4.8 out of 5, from Trustpilot

online schoolself-pacedSecularAccredited option

Online Schools · K-12

K12 Online School

Tuition-free (K12-powered online public schools, where available by state)

Independent average 4.4 out of 5, from Trustpilot

online schoolNot statedAccredited option

Online Schools · K-12

Connections Academy

Tuition-free (public online school, where available)

Independent average 1.6 out of 5, from Trustpilot

online schoolSecularAccredited option

Compare NorthStar Academy side by side

For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.

Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.