In short: Excellence in Literature is listed as curricula (print & mixed), for The complete curriculum is described as literature and writing for grades 8–12.. Price as shown: Shop product data: each single-year Excellence in Literature ebook is $29.00 (Introduction to Literature, Literature and Composition, American Literature, British Literature, and World Literature). The complete curriculum ebook is $139.00. Complete Curriculum plus Handbook, print, is $219.00. Handbook for Writers is $39.00 in print and $29.00 as an ebook.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 29, 2026.
Price as shown on October 29, 2026: Shop product data: each single-year Excellence in Literature ebook is $29.00 (Introduction to Literature, Literature and Composition, American Literature, British Literature, and World Literature). The complete curriculum ebook is $139.00. Complete Curriculum plus Handbook, print, is $219.00. Handbook for Writers is $39.00 in print and $29.00 as an ebook.. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $29.00. Billing terms recorded with that figure: one-year literature course ebook. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does Excellence in Literature cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.
Excellence in Literature is a high school literature and writing curriculum sold by Everyday Education. The homepage says Everyday Education is the exclusive source for the complete curriculum, all five years in a binder. The shop product data says the complete curriculum offers five years of literature and writing instruction for grades 8–12. The matcher uses grades 8–12. Each single-year ebook is $29.00: Introduction to Literature (English 1), Literature and Composition (English 2), American Literature (English 3), British Literature (English 4), and World Literature (English 5). The Introduction to Literature page calls that ebook a one-year college-preparatory literature and composition course. The complete curriculum ebook is $139.00 and is described as self-directed college-prep English. Complete Curriculum plus Handbook, in print, is $219.00. The Handbook for Writers is $39.00 in print and $29.00 as an ebook. The starting figure is $29, one year ebook, not the five-year print set. Other books on the same shop, including McGuffey readers and an Evaluate Writing ebook at $4.99, are not this curriculum and are not the starting figure. Accreditation is n/a. A faith statement was not on the pages checked. A parent teaches. Our involvement estimate is high. It is literature and writing, not a full set of subjects. Price the year you would buy.
Where this listing sits
Excellence in Literature is filed under curricula (print & mixed). People also search Excellence in Literature, Everyday Education. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.
The price, read carefully
Price as shown: “Shop product data: each single-year Excellence in Literature ebook is $29.00 (Introduction to Literature, Literature and Composition, American Literature, British Literature, and World Literature). The complete curriculum ebook is $139.00. Complete Curriculum plus Handbook, print, is $219.00. Handbook for Writers is $39.00 in print and $29.00 as an ebook..” The starting figure is $29.00. That number is one-year literature course ebook. It is not a full-year total for every subject and every child. If you line it up next to a school tuition, you are comparing different kinds of purchases. Source: official price page, checked October 29, 2026.
Grades
Excellence in Literature is listed for The complete curriculum is described as literature and writing for grades 8–12.. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 8 through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.
Accreditation and faith
Accreditation is recorded as “n/a.” This listing is not marked as an accredited school. Many families use curricula that are not schools and keep their own records. That is a legal and practical question for your state and for any school you might transfer back to, not a quality score. See what accreditation does and does not mean.
Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.
How the day is shaped
Literature-based
Literature-based programs teach through real books. Read-aloud time is usually part of the day. For Excellence in Literature, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Parent-directed delivery means a parent sets the pace and is usually in the lesson. Parent time is our estimate: high. A parent teaches, reads aloud, or guides the conversation most days. We estimate that from the program type (parent-directed books, living books, or mastery lessons), not from a stopwatch. If that is the part of homeschooling you want, this shape can fit. If you need the program to run while you work a shift, look at listings with a low estimate and then read their delivery tags.
Who it may suit
- You are willing to read the publisher’s own words about faith, because the page we checked did not state one.
- You want to teach, read aloud, or sit in the lesson.
Who may want a different listing
- You cannot be the teacher on a normal week.
- You need an accredited diploma and this listing does not record one.
These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.
What the official site itself describes
Recorded from the official site on October 29, 2026: The homepage says Everyday Education is the exclusive source for the Excellence in Literature Complete Curriculum, all five years in a binder. The Introduction to Literature ebook is described as a one-year college-preparatory literature and composition course. McGuffey readers, an Evaluate Writing ebook at $4.99, planners, and other Everyday Education titles are on the same shop and are not the starting figure. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.
Questions to ask before you pay
- Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
- Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
- Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or Excellence in Literature? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
- What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
- On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?
What we are willing to leave blank
Still unknown after the October 29, 2026 check: a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.
How to use this page with the quiz
The curriculum quiz ranks Excellence in Literature against the other 157 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at A Reason For, A.C.E. School of Tomorrow, Abeka Homeschool in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.
CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with Excellence in Literature unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · The shop navigation lists kindergarten through 8th grade. Prices below are from the second-grade collection only.
Second-grade collection, sale prices as labeled: Handwriting Manuscript Number Practice Pages, digital download, $5.95. Handwriting border sheets $9.95. Handwriting Level B student worktext $23.95. Level B handwriting bundle $34.85. Handwriting Level T student worktext $23.95. Spelling Level B student worktext, 2nd edition, $25.95. Spelling Level B teacher guidebook $47.95. Science Level B student worktext $23.95. Science Level B teacher guidebook $59.95. Science Level B refill kit $109.95. Science Level B materials kit $179.95. A Reason For Reading teacher resource set $479.95. A Reason For Reading, all 95 books, $329.95. Early reader sets $33.95 and $37.95.
No numeric independent rating
workbookChristian
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · The homeschool catalog lists kindergarten subjects and high school courses, including English I through English IV.
unknown. The homeschool catalog loaded as a script-built shop and did not print a dollar tuition. An empty cart is not a price.
No numeric independent rating
Christian
Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12
Abeka Academy, Video & Books, 10-month plan: K4 accredited not offered, unaccredited K4 $58.40; accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40; K5 $98.40/$93.40; accredited Gr 7-8 $175.40 and unaccredited $170.40; accredited Gr 9-12 $188.40 and unaccredited $178.40.
No numeric independent rating
traditionalvideoChristianAccredited option
Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.