Curricula (Print & Mixed)

Essentials in Writing: price, grades, and fit

In short: Essentials in Writing is listed as curricula (print & mixed), for Levels 1-12 (Level 1 ages 6-7). Price as shown: Level 1 writing: digital $99; digital + print $119. With the assessment booklet: digital $109; digital + print $139.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 20, 2026.

Key facts

Type
Curricula (Print & Mixed)
Price as shown
Level 1 writing: digital $99; digital + print $119. With the assessment booklet: digital $109; digital + print $139.
Starting figure
$99.00
What that figure is
Level 1 digital course
Grades
Levels 1-12 (Level 1 ages 6-7)
Accreditation
n/a
Faith
Not stated
Styles
writing, video, online
Delivery
self
Parent involvement
medium (our estimate, from program type)
Checked
October 20, 2026

Essentials in Writing cost 2026

Price as shown on October 20, 2026: Level 1 writing: digital $99; digital + print $119. With the assessment booklet: digital $109; digital + print $139.. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $99.00. Billing terms recorded with that figure: Level 1 digital course. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does Essentials in Writing cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.

Price source: official page. Listing page: https://essentialsinwriting.com/.

Essentials in Writing is a writing curriculum with video lessons. The Level 1 page is for ages 6–7 and prices the writing package at $99 digital or $119 digital plus print. Adding the assessment booklet makes those $109 and $139. The starting figure is $99, the Level 1 digital package, not a price for every later level and not a full set of subjects. The site lists levels through Level 12, and the Level 12 page title calls it college-prep writing, so the matcher uses grades 1–12. It will not treat Level 1 as a high-school English class. Accreditation is n/a. Faith stance was not stated. Delivery is self-paced video, and our involvement estimate is medium. Ask which level a placement check recommends, and price that level rather than assuming $99 covers it.

Where this listing sits

Essentials in Writing is filed under curricula (print & mixed). People also search Essentials in Writing, EIW. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.

The price, read carefully

Price as shown: “Level 1 writing: digital $99; digital + print $119. With the assessment booklet: digital $109; digital + print $139..” The starting figure is $99.00. That number is Level 1 digital course. It is not a full-year total for every subject and every child. If you line it up next to a school tuition, you are comparing different kinds of purchases. Source: official price page, checked October 20, 2026.

Grades

Essentials in Writing is listed for Levels 1-12 (Level 1 ages 6-7). In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 1 through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.

Accreditation and faith

Accreditation is recorded as “n/a.” This listing is not marked as an accredited school. Many families use curricula that are not schools and keep their own records. That is a legal and practical question for your state and for any school you might transfer back to, not a quality score. See what accreditation does and does not mean.

Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.

How the day is shaped

Writing

This listing is writing and language arts, not a full set of subjects. For Essentials in Writing, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Video

Video puts a recorded teacher on the screen, so a parent may not have to invent the lesson. For Essentials in Writing, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Online

Online delivery means the lesson is on a screen. It can cut preparation time. Younger children still need an adult nearby. For Essentials in Writing, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Self-paced delivery means the student can move without a live class on the calendar. Parent time is our estimate: medium. Someone is nearby to start the lesson, watch the frustration, and check that the work happened. You are not writing the curriculum from scratch, and you are not handing the whole day to a campus. This is an estimate from the program type. It is labeled as ours so you do not mistake it for a fact on the publisher’s price page.

Who it may suit

  • You are willing to read the publisher’s own words about faith, because the page we checked did not state one.

Who may want a different listing

  • You need an accredited diploma and this listing does not record one.

These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.

What the official site itself describes

Recorded from the official site on October 20, 2026: The Level 1 page is titled for ages 6–7. The Level 12 page title calls that level college-prep writing. Video lessons are part of the Level 1 package. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.

Questions to ask before you pay

  • Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
  • Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
  • Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or Essentials in Writing? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
  • What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
  • On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?

What we are willing to leave blank

Still unknown after the October 20, 2026 check: a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.

How to use this page with the quiz

The curriculum quiz ranks Essentials in Writing against the other 68 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at Abeka Homeschool, All About Learning Press, Alpha Omega Publications in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.

CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with Essentials in Writing unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.

Independent reviews & ratings

No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 20, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Essentials in Writing cost?

As shown on the official page on October 20, 2026: Level 1 writing: digital $99; digital + print $119. With the assessment booklet: digital $109; digital + print $139.. The starting figure used for sorting is $99.00 (Level 1 digital course). Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.

What grades does Essentials in Writing cover?

Grades listed: Levels 1-12 (Level 1 ages 6-7). Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.

Is Essentials in Writing accredited?

n/a. This listing is not marked as an accredited school.

Is Essentials in Writing religious or secular?

Not stated, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.

Similar listings

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12

Abeka Homeschool

Abeka Academy, Video & Books, 10-month plan: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40; K5 $98.40/$93.40; accredited Gr 7-8 $175.40 and unaccredited $170.40; accredited Gr 9-12 $188.40 and unaccredited $178.40.

No numeric independent rating

traditionalvideoChristianAccredited option

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · All About Math K-5; All About Reading Pre-Reading through Level 4

All About Learning Press

All About Reading Level 1 materials $159.95 (teacher's manual and student packet)

No numeric independent rating

phonicsmasteryNot stated

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12

Alpha Omega Publications

Monarch: $439.95/yr per student full access (or $43.95/mo); single course $109.95/yr (or $10.95/mo)

No numeric independent rating

workbookonlineChristian

Compare Essentials in Writing side by side

For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.

Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.