AmblesideOnline
Free
No numeric independent rating
Free Curricula
In short: Discovery K12 is listed as free curricula, for PreK-12. Price as shown: Student accounts are free and include the curriculum. Optional Parent/Teacher Account: $99.00 per family/year.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 20, 2026.
Price as shown on October 20, 2026: Student accounts are free and include the curriculum. Optional Parent/Teacher Account: $99.00 per family/year.. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $0.00. Billing terms recorded with that figure: student account. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does Discovery K12 cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.
Price source: official page. Listing page: https://discoveryk12.com/about/.
Discovery K12, also called DK12, publishes a free online homeschool curriculum for Pre-K through 12th grade. The about page says student accounts are free and include the curriculum, with seven standard courses: language arts, reading and literature, math, science, history and social studies, visual and performing arts, and physical education. An optional Parent/Teacher Account is $99.00 per family per year and adds a grade book, attendance, answer keys, and transcript tools. The starting figure is $0, the student account, not the optional upgrade. The FAQ says the program is not accredited, because it is a curriculum for independent homeschoolers and only schools are accredited, and that the parent is the teacher. Faith stance was not stated. Lessons are on a screen and self-paced, and our involvement estimate is high because the parent provides the instruction. A free account still needs a device and your own records.
Discovery K12 is filed under free curricula. People also search Discovery K12, DK12. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.
The official page presents Discovery K12 as free, so the starting figure is $0.00. Free means the published plan is not a tuition bill. It does not mean a year of homeschooling costs nothing. Books on a list, printing, supplies, and a device can still cost money. Source: official price page, checked October 20, 2026.
Discovery K12 is listed for PreK-12. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades Pre-K through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.
Accreditation is recorded as “Not accredited. The FAQ says it is a platform and curriculum for independent homeschoolers, and that only schools are accredited..” This listing is not marked as an accredited school. Many families use curricula that are not schools and keep their own records. That is a legal and practical question for your state and for any school you might transfer back to, not a quality score. See what accreditation does and does not mean.
Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.
Online delivery means the lesson is on a screen. It can cut preparation time. Younger children still need an adult nearby. For Discovery K12, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Self-paced means your family, not a bell, decides when the lesson happens. For Discovery K12, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Free, as a style tag, means the provider publishes materials without a tuition charge. You may still buy paper, a device, or the books on the list. For Discovery K12, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.
Self-paced delivery means the student can move without a live class on the calendar. Parent-directed delivery means a parent sets the pace and is usually in the lesson. Parent time is our estimate: high. A parent teaches, reads aloud, or guides the conversation most days. We estimate that from the program type (parent-directed books, living books, or mastery lessons), not from a stopwatch. If that is the part of homeschooling you want, this shape can fit. If you need the program to run while you work a shift, look at listings with a low estimate and then read their delivery tags.
These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.
Recorded from the official site on October 20, 2026: The about page says Discovery K12 provides a free online homeschool platform and curriculum for Pre-K through 12th grade, with seven standard courses, and that student accounts are free. The FAQ says the parent is the teacher. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.
Still unknown after the October 20, 2026 check: a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.
The curriculum quiz ranks Discovery K12 against the other 68 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at AmblesideOnline, Khan Academy in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.
CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with Discovery K12 unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.
No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 20, 2026.
As shown on the official page on October 20, 2026: Student accounts are free and include the curriculum. Optional Parent/Teacher Account: $99.00 per family/year.. The starting figure used for sorting is $0.00 (student account). Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.
Grades listed: PreK-12. Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.
Not accredited. The FAQ says it is a platform and curriculum for independent homeschoolers, and that only schools are accredited.. This listing is not marked as an accredited school.
Not stated, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.
Free
No numeric independent rating
unknown (official page not machine-readable on check date)
No numeric independent rating
Compare Discovery K12 side by side
For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.
Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.