Curricula (Print & Mixed)

BookShark: price, grades, and fit

In short: BookShark is listed as curricula (print & mixed), for Pre-K (ages 4-5) through high school (ages 14-16). Price as shown: Level A all-subject package (ages 5-7) $881.88; list price $1,102.35 shown struck through. Faith: Secular. Checked October 17, 2026.

Key facts

Type
Curricula (Print & Mixed)
Price as shown
Level A all-subject package (ages 5-7) $881.88; list price $1,102.35 shown struck through
Starting figure
$881.88
What that figure is
Level A all-subject package (item price)
Grades
Pre-K (ages 4-5) through high school (ages 14-16)
Accreditation
n/a
Faith
Secular
Styles
literature-based
Delivery
parent
Parent involvement
high (our estimate, from program type)
Checked
October 17, 2026

BookShark cost 2026

Price as shown on October 17, 2026: Level A all-subject package (ages 5-7) $881.88; list price $1,102.35 shown struck through. The starting figure stored for sorting and the price index is $881.88. Billing terms recorded with that figure: Level A all-subject package (item price). This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does BookShark cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.

Price source: official page. Listing page: https://bookshark.com/.

BookShark is a secular, literature-based curriculum. The shop sorts packages from Pre-K (ages 4–5) through a high-school band labeled ages 14–16. This listing stops the matcher at grade 10 because the site does not describe a grade 11 or 12 age band. The Level A all-subject package for ages 5–7 is priced at $881.88, with a struck-through list price of $1,102.35 on the same tile. That package price is the starting figure. It is one level, not a quote for every child or every year. Reading with History and science packages on that page are lower numbers and are different products. Accreditation is n/a. A parent teaches from the books and the schedule. Our involvement estimate is high. It is a separate publisher from Sonlight.

Where this listing sits

BookShark is filed under curricula (print & mixed). People also search BookShark, Book Shark. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.

The price, read carefully

Price as shown: “Level A all-subject package (ages 5-7) $881.88; list price $1,102.35 shown struck through.” The starting figure is $881.88. That number is Level A all-subject package (item price). It is not a full-year total for every subject and every child. If you line it up next to a school tuition, you are comparing different kinds of purchases. Source: official price page, checked October 17, 2026.

Grades

BookShark is listed for Pre-K (ages 4-5) through high school (ages 14-16). In the quiz, that span is treated as grades Pre-K through grade 10. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.

Accreditation and faith

Accreditation is recorded as “n/a.” This listing is not marked as an accredited school. Many families use curricula that are not schools and keep their own records. That is a legal and practical question for your state and for any school you might transfer back to, not a quality score. See what accreditation does and does not mean.

Faith stance recorded from how the provider describes the program: Secular. That is a description, not a rating. A Christian tag does not tell you how doctrine is handled. A secular tag means we did not record a religious claim. Catholic is more specific than Christian, and the quiz treats them differently when you ask for Catholic materials.

How the day is shaped

Literature-based

Literature-based programs teach through real books. Read-aloud time is usually part of the day. For BookShark, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Parent-directed delivery means a parent sets the pace and is usually in the lesson. Parent time is our estimate: high. A parent teaches, reads aloud, or guides the conversation most days. We estimate that from the program type (parent-directed books, living books, or mastery lessons), not from a stopwatch. If that is the part of homeschooling you want, this shape can fit. If you need the program to run while you work a shift, look at listings with a low estimate and then read their delivery tags.

Who it may suit

  • You want a secular program.
  • You want to teach, read aloud, or sit in the lesson.

Who may want a different listing

  • You cannot be the teacher on a normal week.
  • You need an accredited diploma and this listing does not record one.
  • You want the materials themselves to teach a Christian or Catholic worldview.

These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.

What the official site itself describes

Recorded from the official site on October 17, 2026: BookShark publishes a page titled Secular Homeschool Curriculum Packages. Level bands on the shop run from Pre-K (ages 4-5) through High School (ages 14-16). This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.

Questions to ask before you pay

  • Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
  • Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
  • Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or BookShark? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
  • What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
  • On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?

What we are willing to leave blank

The core fields for this listing were present on the official pages we checked. Prices and policies still change. The check date is October 17, 2026, not a lifetime warranty.

How to use this page with the quiz

The curriculum quiz ranks BookShark against the other 49 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at Abeka Homeschool, All About Learning Press, Alpha Omega Publications in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.

CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with BookShark unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.

Independent reviews & ratings

No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 17, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How much does BookShark cost?

As shown on the official page on October 17, 2026: Level A all-subject package (ages 5-7) $881.88; list price $1,102.35 shown struck through. The starting figure used for sorting is $881.88 (Level A all-subject package (item price)). Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.

What grades does BookShark cover?

Grades listed: Pre-K (ages 4-5) through high school (ages 14-16). Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.

Is BookShark accredited?

n/a. This listing is not marked as an accredited school.

Is BookShark religious or secular?

Secular, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.

Similar listings

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12

Abeka Homeschool

Abeka Academy, Video & Books, 10-month plan: accredited Gr 1-6 $148.40; unaccredited Gr 1-6 $143.40; K5 $98.40/$93.40; accredited Gr 7-8 $175.40 and unaccredited $170.40; accredited Gr 9-12 $188.40 and unaccredited $178.40.

No numeric independent rating

traditionalvideoChristianAccredited option

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · All About Math K-5; All About Reading Pre-Reading through Level 4

All About Learning Press

All About Reading Level 1 materials $159.95 (teacher's manual and student packet)

No numeric independent rating

phonicsmasteryNot stated

Curricula (Print & Mixed) · PreK-12

Alpha Omega Publications

Monarch: $439.95/yr per student full access (or $43.95/mo); single course $109.95/yr (or $10.95/mo)

No numeric independent rating

workbookonlineChristian

Compare BookShark side by side

For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.

Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.