Online Schools

American School: price, grades, and fit

In short: American School is listed as online schools, for Grades 6–12. The homepage says accredited courses in grades 6–12 and lists middle school, high school, a college preparatory program, and correspondence high school.. Price as shown: unknown. The homepage, the accreditation page, the enroll page, and the courses page loaded and did not print a dollar tuition.. Faith: Not stated. Checked October 26, 2026.

Key facts

Type
Online Schools
Price as shown
unknown. The homepage, the accreditation page, the enroll page, and the courses page loaded and did not print a dollar tuition.
Starting figure
unknown
What that figure is
unknown
Grades
Grades 6–12. The homepage says accredited courses in grades 6–12 and lists middle school, high school, a college preparatory program, and correspondence high school.
Accreditation
Accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS), Accreditation International (Ai), and the National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA). The accreditation page also says American School is recognized as a non-public secondary school by the Illinois State Board of Education.
Faith
Not stated
Styles
online school, traditional
Delivery
self, parent
Parent involvement
medium (our estimate, from program type)
Checked
October 26, 2026

American School cost 2026

Price as shown on October 26, 2026: unknown. The homepage, the accreditation page, the enroll page, and the courses page loaded and did not print a dollar tuition.. No single yearly starting figure is stored for this listing. The official page did not state a billing term we recorded as a yearly or monthly plan. This is not a quote. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy. The question “How much does American School cost?” is answered again in the questions below, from the same fields.

Price source: official page. Listing page: https://www.americanschoolofcorr.com/.

American School is an accredited correspondence school that also offers online courses. The homepage says it has offered accredited homeschool since 1897 and that it offers accredited courses in grades 6–12. The menu lists middle school, high school, a college preparatory program, correspondence high school, and individual subjects. The accreditation page says American School was the first distance-learning school to receive regional accreditation, and that it is accredited by the Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS), Accreditation International, and the National Council for Private School Accreditation. The same page says the Illinois State Board of Education recognizes it as a non-public secondary school. The homepage, the accreditation page, the enroll page, and the courses page all loaded on October 26, 2026. None of them printed a dollar tuition, so the price stays unknown. A sentence that fees are reasonable, in a parent quotation, is not a price. The phone on the site is 708-418-2800 and the email is customerrelations@americanschool.org. A faith statement was not on the pages checked. The program includes print correspondence and online study, so delivery is recorded as both self-paced and parent-directed. Our involvement estimate is medium. Ask the school for the current tuition before you compare it with a priced online high school. The matcher uses grades 6–12.

Where this listing sits

American School is filed under online schools. People also search American School, American School of Correspondence. The directory name and the URL stay stable so an old link still lands here. CurriculumQuiz does not invent its own star score, run a parent poll, or sell a review. Third-party ratings quoted below stay in that section. Numeric ratings are combined into the independent average that orders program lists. That average is not a fact in the list above, and it is not a CurriculumQuiz score.

The price, read carefully

We could not verify a price for American School on October 26, 2026. The price stays unknown. We will not borrow a number from a review, a Facebook group, or a similar program. Ask the provider, and keep their answer with your notes. The page we checked is the official site, and the price source we recorded is this official URL.

Grades

American School is listed for Grades 6–12. The homepage says accredited courses in grades 6–12 and lists middle school, high school, a college preparatory program, and correspondence high school.. In the quiz, that span is treated as grades 6 through grade 12. A program can still place a child by skill rather than age. Use the provider’s placement test when one exists, and do not force a level because of last year’s grade.

Accreditation and faith

Accreditation, in the provider’s words: “Accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS), Accreditation International (Ai), and the National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA). The accreditation page also says American School is recognized as a non-public secondary school by the Illinois State Board of Education..” We mark an accredited option because the official site describes one. Marking it is not a promise that every book, every plan, or every campus is covered, or that your state or a future school will accept the record. Ask which body accredited it, what the certificate covers, and whether the plan you would buy is the accredited one.

Faith stance: not stated. The page we checked did not clearly say secular, Christian, or Catholic. We will not assign one from reputation. If worldview matters in your house, read a sample chapter and the publisher’s own about page.

How the day is shaped

Online school

An online school enrolls a child as a student. Teachers or the school usually keep grades. Families give up some control of the clock in exchange for a lighter teaching load. For American School, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Traditional

Traditional programs feel closest to a conventional school day: a text or workbook, practice, and tests. For American School, the tag is a filing label from the official description, not a review of how your child will feel on a Thursday.

Self-paced delivery means the student can move without a live class on the calendar. Parent-directed delivery means a parent sets the pace and is usually in the lesson. Parent time is our estimate: medium. Someone is nearby to start the lesson, watch the frustration, and check that the work happened. You are not writing the curriculum from scratch, and you are not handing the whole day to a campus. This is an estimate from the program type. It is labeled as ours so you do not mistake it for a fact on the publisher’s price page.

Who it may suit

  • You are willing to read the publisher’s own words about faith, because the page we checked did not state one.
  • You want an option the provider describes as accredited, and you will still ask which body and which grades that covers.

Who may want a different listing

    These notes come from the type, the style tags, and the faith and accreditation fields. They are not a quality review. A program can be a poor fit for your week and still be well made.

    What the official site itself describes

    Recorded from the official site on October 26, 2026: The homepage says American School has offered accredited homeschool since 1897. Phone on the page: 708-418-2800. Email customerrelations@americanschool.org. Parent quotations on the homepage are not stored as independent reviews. No dollar amount was on the pages that loaded. This sentence is a quotation of what we could verify. It is not a full catalog, and it is not a recommendation.

    Questions to ask before you pay

    • Does the price you were quoted include every subject, shipping, and a second child, or only the example on this page?
    • Is there a placement test, and what happens if your child lands in a different level than their age?
    • Who keeps grades and transcripts, you or American School? That answer matters for your state’s official rules.
    • What is the refund or trial window, in the provider’s own words?
    • On a normal Tuesday, how many minutes is a parent in the lesson?

    What we are willing to leave blank

    Still unknown after the October 26, 2026 check: a verified price, a stated faith stance. Unknown is a result. It is not a blank we fill in to make the table look finished.

    How to use this page with the quiz

    The curriculum quiz ranks American School against the other 127 listings using your grade, style, time, budget, faith, accreditation need, and pace. Your state adds a link when we have an official source. It does not change the score. You can also put this program next to others in the compare tool. Families often look at Acellus Academy, K12 Online School, Connections Academy in the same category. For the wider decision, read how to choose and the cost guide.

    CurriculumQuiz is not affiliated with American School unless an outbound link on this page is explicitly marked as an affiliate link. Today the affiliate field for this listing is empty, so the button goes to the official URL.

    Independent reviews & ratings

    No reputable independent review was found for this program on the sources checked October 26, 2026.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does American School cost?

    As shown on the official page on October 26, 2026: unknown. The homepage, the accreditation page, the enroll page, and the courses page loaded and did not print a dollar tuition.. We did not publish a single yearly starting number. Prices change. Confirm on the provider’s site.

    What grades does American School cover?

    Grades listed: Grades 6–12. The homepage says accredited courses in grades 6–12 and lists middle school, high school, a college preparatory program, and correspondence high school.. Use the provider’s placement test if one is offered.

    Is American School accredited?

    Accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA-CESS), Accreditation International (Ai), and the National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA). The accreditation page also says American School is recognized as a non-public secondary school by the Illinois State Board of Education.. An accredited option is recorded. Ask what it covers.

    Is American School religious or secular?

    Not stated, based on the provider’s own description when we could record one. Not stated means we did not assign a stance.

    Similar listings

    Online Schools · K-12

    Acellus Academy

    Basic 249 dollars/month, or 79 dollars/month with the Roger Billings Scholarship; Enhanced $299/month; Premium $499/month

    Independent average 4.7 out of 5, from Trustpilot

    online schoolself-pacedSecularAccredited option

    Online Schools · K-12

    K12 Online School

    Tuition-free (K12-powered online public schools, where available by state)

    Independent average 4.4 out of 5, from Trustpilot

    online schoolNot statedAccredited option

    Online Schools · K-12

    Connections Academy

    Tuition-free (public online school, where available)

    Independent average 1.9 out of 5, from Trustpilot

    online schoolSecularAccredited option

    Compare American School side by side

    For programs: Claim this listing · Get Featured. Parents pay nothing.

    Unknown means the official page did not confirm the field. We do not guess. Third-party ratings, when a source page was loaded, are quoted in their own section and are not facts. See the methodology.