IXL vs CTCMath
Quick answer: IXL (online, supplement) and CTCMath (math, online, video) differ in the fields below. The table uses only facts from each official page, checked October 17, 2026. Unknown means we could not verify it.
| IXL | CTCMath | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Online Practice & Supplements | Online Curricula |
| Independent average | No numeric independent rating | No numeric independent rating |
| Price as shown | $9.95/mo single subject; $15.95/mo math + language arts; $19.95/mo core subjects | One student $39.90/mo or $257/yr; multiple students $59.90/mo or $397/yr |
| Starting figure | $119.40 | $257.00 |
| Grades | PreK-12 | K-12 math |
| Accreditation | n/a (supplement) | n/a |
| Faith | Secular | Not stated |
| Styles | online, supplement | math, online, video |
| Parent time (estimate) | medium | medium |
IXL listing · CTCMath listing · Open in the compare tool
How they differ in approach
- Shared: online.
- Only IXL: supplement.
- Only CTCMath: math, video.
- online: Online delivery means the lesson is on a screen. It can cut preparation time. Younger children still need an adult nearby.
- supplement: A supplement practices skills next to a main plan. It is not a full school day by itself.
- math: This is math. You still need a plan for reading and the rest of the day.
- video: Video puts a recorded teacher on the screen, so a parent may not have to invent the lesson.
How to decide
- Pick the style first. The shape of Tuesday matters more than the brand.
- Check the total for your children, including books and shipping, on each official site.
- Use samples or placement tests before you buy a year.
- Make sure records match your state's official source.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, IXL or CTCMath?
Prices as shown on October 17, 2026: IXL: $9.95/mo single subject; $15.95/mo math + language arts; $19.95/mo core subjects CTCMath: One student $39.90/mo or $257/yr; multiple students $59.90/mo or $397/yr Where a price is unknown, or where one figure is a kit and the other is a year, compare current quotes directly. We do not invent a winner.
Is IXL or CTCMath accredited?
IXL: n/a (supplement) CTCMath: n/a
Are IXL and CTCMath religious or secular?
IXL: Secular. CTCMath: Not stated.
Can I switch from one to the other mid-year?
Usually yes. Homeschool materials are not a school calendar. Use each provider's placement test, if one is offered. Math programs in particular sequence topics differently, so a grade number in one series is not a grade number in the other.
What each listing says
IXL is a secular online practice site for PreK–12, not a full curriculum. The family pricing page showed $9.95 a month for one subject, $15.95 for math plus language arts, and $19.95 for core subjects. The starting figure, $119.40, is twelve times the single-subject price. A family using core subjects would pay more. Accreditation is marked n/a because IXL is a supplement: it does not enroll your child in a school or issue a diploma. It can sit beside a literature program or an online school. Our involvement estimate is medium, because someone still has to notice whether the practice matches the day’s lesson.
CTCMath is online video math for K–12. The FAQ page shows one student at $39.90 a month or $257 a year, and multiple students at $59.90 a month or $397 a year. The starting figure is $257, the one-student yearly price. It is math only. Accreditation is n/a. Faith stance was not stated. Delivery is self-paced and our involvement estimate is medium. A family with more than one student should use the multiple-student price, not the starting figure. Because the lessons are video, the parent is usually a supervisor rather than the person inventing the lesson. Pair it with a language-arts and history plan. Do not read $257 as the cost of a full homeschool.
This page does not score a winner. Paid placement, if either listing has it, is labeled Sponsored and does not change the cells. The independent average is a separate number from third-party ratings. It is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Read the methodology for how that average is calculated, then open each official site before you buy. A kit, a monthly plan, and a school tuition are different purchases. Where either program has an alternatives page, it is linked from that program's listing.