Connections Academy vs K12 Online School
Quick answer: Connections Academy (online school) and K12 Online School (online school) differ in the fields below. The table uses only facts from each official page, checked October 17, 2026. Unknown means we could not verify it.
| Connections Academy | K12 Online School | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Online Schools | Online Schools |
| Independent average | 1.6 out of 5, from Trustpilot | 4.4 out of 5, from Trustpilot |
| Price as shown | Tuition-free (public online school, where available) | Tuition-free (K12-powered online public schools, where available by state) |
| Starting figure | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Grades | K-12 | K-12 |
| Accreditation | Accreditation referenced on official site | K12-powered online schools accredited under Stride's institutional Cognia accreditation (per K12) |
| Faith | Secular | Not stated |
| Styles | online school | online school |
| Parent time (estimate) | low | low |
Connections Academy listing · K12 Online School listing · Open in the compare tool
How they differ in approach
- Shared: online school.
- Only Connections Academy: none.
- Only K12 Online School: none.
- online school: An online school enrolls a child as a student. Teachers or the school usually keep grades. Families give up some control of the clock in exchange for a lighter teaching load.
How to decide
- Pick the style first. The shape of Tuesday matters more than the brand.
- Check the total for your children, including books and shipping, on each official site.
- Use samples or placement tests before you buy a year.
- Make sure records match your state's official source.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Connections Academy or K12 Online School?
Prices as shown on October 17, 2026: Connections Academy: Tuition-free (public online school, where available) K12 Online School: Tuition-free (K12-powered online public schools, where available by state) Where a price is unknown, or where one figure is a kit and the other is a year, compare current quotes directly. We do not invent a winner.
Is Connections Academy or K12 Online School accredited?
Connections Academy: Accreditation referenced on official site K12 Online School: K12-powered online schools accredited under Stride's institutional Cognia accreditation (per K12)
Are Connections Academy and K12 Online School religious or secular?
Connections Academy: Secular. K12 Online School: Not stated.
Can I switch from one to the other mid-year?
Usually yes. Homeschool materials are not a school calendar. Use each provider's placement test, if one is offered. Math programs in particular sequence topics differently, so a grade number in one series is not a grade number in the other.
What each listing says
Connections Academy is a public online school for grades K–12 where a state offers it. The official site describes it as tuition-free where available, so the starting figure in this directory is $0. The site references accreditation; it does not, on the page we saved, name every campus and body in one sentence, so the note stays “accreditation referenced on official site.” It is listed as secular. Parent involvement is our estimate of low because the school, not a box of workbooks, carries the instruction. Confirm that a Connections Academy school actually enrolls students in your state before you plan a year around it.
K12 Online School is the name families type when they mean a tuition-free online public school powered by K12. In this directory it is an online school for grades K–12. The price recorded from K12's own page is tuition-free where a K12-powered public school is available in your state. K12 says those schools are accredited under Stride's institutional Cognia accreditation. The page we checked did not clearly state a religious or secular stance, so faith stays not stated. A seat, a device, and any live-class schedule depend on the state and the school. This listing cannot tell you whether one is open where you live.
This page does not score a winner. Paid placement, if either listing has it, is labeled Sponsored and does not change the cells. The independent average is a separate number from third-party ratings. It is not a CurriculumQuiz score. Read the methodology for how that average is calculated, then open each official site before you buy. A kit, a monthly plan, and a school tuition are different purchases. Where either program has an alternatives page, it is linked from that program's listing.